More Auto Racing News

More News | Wire

Mercedes cars dominate practice for German GP

HOCKENHEIM, Germany (AP) Nico Rosberg looks ready to snatch back the Formula One lead from Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton.

If Friday's two practice runs are anything to go by, Rosberg appears faster than Hamilton heading into the German Grand Prix weekend. Read More...

F1: frontal cockpit protection to come in 2018

HOCKENHEIM, Germany (AP) Frontal cockpit protection will not be introduced for Formula One cars before the 2018 season, to allow for more testing, the governing body of world motor sports said Thursday.

The F1 Strategy Group that includes Formula One chief Bernie Ecclestone, six leading teams and FIA President Jean Todt agreed on the move after a meeting in Geneva. Drivers, who spoke strongly in favor of the "Halo" system, were hoping it would come into force next season. Read More...

Ferrari hopes for turn of fortune on Vettel's home course

HOCKENHEIM, Germany (AP) A shake up in the technical department and Sebastian Vettel's home course give Ferrari some hope of narrowing the gap to dominant Mercedes, although Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg are still the drivers to beat in Sunday's German Grand Prix.

Eleven races into the season, Ferrari is still winless and on Wednesday parted company with technical director James Allison and appointed Mattia Binotto as chief technical officer. Read More...

Formula 1 chief's mother-in-law missing in Brazil

RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) Brazilian police said Wednesday they are investigating the apparent disappearance of the mother-in-law of Formula 1 chief Bernie Ecclestone.

A police official speaking on the condition of anonymity told The Associated Press that authorities are trying to find 67-year-old Aparecida Schunck. The official has knowledge of the investigation but is not allowed to speak publicly, as is the norm for Brazilian law enforcement officials during ongoing cases. Read More...

Ferrari replaces chief technical officer halfway into season

MARANELLO, Italy (AP) Ferrari's technical director James Allison has left the team in what was described as a joint decision following a disappointing first half of the Formula One season during which Ferrari failed to win a race.

Allison spent three years in his second stint with Ferrari. Team chief Maurizio Arrivabene thanked him on Wednesday for his "commitment and sacrifice" and wished him "success and serenity for his future endeavors." Read More...

Hamilton wins Hungarian GP to take overall lead from Rosberg

BUDAPEST, Hungary (AP) Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton won the Hungarian Grand Prix for a record fifth time on Sunday to take the championship lead from teammate Nico Rosberg, who finished second.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo was third, followed by Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel and Max Verstappen of Red Bull. Read More...