MLB

#41
Joe Ross
ERA W-L K
4.17 5-9 109
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220
Position: SPBorn: 5/21/1993 Birthplace: Berkeley, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Padres (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 15 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST10:18 AM CST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-Ross (partially torn UCL) will not require surgery but is out for the rest of the season.
Analysis: Ross was re-evaluated by the doctor who performed his Tommy John surgery in 2017. Ross has been the Nats' most consistent starter this season apart from Max Scherzer, who was traded to the Dodgers at the deadline. Ross is 5-9 with a 4.17 ERA in 20 starts, with career highs in innings pitched (108) and strikeouts (109).
Aug. 5 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST5:52 PM CST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-6 on Thursday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 31 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 5-9, allowing five runs - four earned - on seven hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Saturday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 26 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Monday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 8 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST6:05 PM CST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-Ross (right elbow inflammation) came off the injured list Monday and will start in Philadelphia.
Analysis: Ross went 3-3 with a 2.31 ERA in his previous six starts before landing on the IL on July 8.
July 4 11:49 AM PT12:49 PM MT1:49 PM CT2:49 PM ET14:49 ET18:49 GMT2:49 11:49 AM MST1:49 PM EST12:49 PM CST2:19 PM VEN22:49 UAE12:49 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 5-8, allowing three runs on seven hits in 6.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 on Sunday. Ross struck out 11, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 29 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 5-7, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Tuesday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 24 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 4-7, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 7-3 on Thursday. Ross struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 19 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 3-7, allowing five runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-1 on Saturday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 13 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)2:00 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 3-6, allowing five hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-0 on Sunday. Ross struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 5 4:25 PM PT5:25 PM MT6:25 PM CT7:25 PM ET19:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST5:25 PM CST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-6, allowing four runs - zero earned - on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-2 on Saturday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 31 5:23 PM PT6:23 PM MT7:23 PM CT8:23 PM ET20:23 ET0:23 GMT8:23 5:23 PM MST7:23 PM EST6:23 PM CST7:53 PM VEN4:23 UAE (+1)6:23 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-5, allowing four runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Monday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)2:15 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Wednesday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 20 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-4, allowing four runs - two earned - on five hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-2 on Thursday. Ross struck out three, ending the game with a 5.72 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 15 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-3, allowing eight runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-4 on Saturday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 5.80 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 9 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)2:19 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed two runs on three hits and five walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Sunday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-2, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-1 on Tuesday. Ross struck out three, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 2-1, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 7-1 on Saturday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 1-1, allowing 10 runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 12-5 on Monday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)2:33 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 1-0, allowing four hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-0 on Wednesday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST4:45 PM CST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 1-0 on Friday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Was 5 5 0 - 0 16 13 0 76.2 64 33 31 7 21 0 69 1.11 3.64
2016 Was 7 5 0 - 0 19 19 0 105.0 108 43 40 9 29 3 93 1.30 3.43
2017 Was 5 3 0 - 0 13 13 0 73.2 88 44 41 16 20 2 68 1.47 5.01
2018 Was 0 2 0 - 0 3 3 0 16.0 17 10 9 3 4 0 7 1.31 5.06
2019 Was 4 4 0 - 2 27 9 0 64.0 74 41 39 7 33 1 57 1.67 5.48
2021 Was 5 9 0 - 0 20 19 0 108.0 98 57 50 17 34 4 109 1.22 4.17
Career 26 28 0 - 2 98 76 0 443.1 449 228 210 59 141 10 403 1.33 4.26

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Was 17 27 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 11 0 0 .111 .143 .111
2016 Was 23 41 2 10 2 0 0 1 3 15 0 0 .244 .295 .293
2017 Was 20 33 1 6 2 0 0 1 1 16 0 0 .182 .206 .242
2018 Was 3 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Was 28 19 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 10 0 0 .105 .150 .105
2021 Was 22 32 1 8 0 0 0 3 1 14 0 0 .250 .294 .250
Career 113 157 7 29 4 0 0 5 6 69 0 0 .185 .224 .210

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Was Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 3 4 4 1 2 0 3 13.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 3 4 4 1 2 0 3 13.50
2019 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.0 6 4 4 2 2 0 1 5.14
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.0 6 4 4 2 2 0 1 5.14
Career 0 1 0 - 0 3 2 0 9.2 9 8 8 3 4 0 4 7.45

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was Total 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Was Total 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1069 97 90 93.5 62.88
Curveball 2 82 79 80.5 .12
Slider 530 88 79 84.7 31.18
Changeup 99 91 85 88.5 5.82


@STATS_Insights