MLB

#15
Sean Newcomb
ERA W-L K
2.39 5-1 58
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-5 / 255
Position: SPBorn: 6/12/1993 Birthplace: Brockton, Massachusetts
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Angels (2014)


Latest News
May 19 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Sean Newcomb improved to 5-1, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 8-1 on Saturday. Newcomb struck out four, ending the game with a 2.39 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Newcomb won his fourth straight start. He had thrown 21 consecutive scoreless innings, the longest active streak in the majors, before the Marlins took a 1-0 lead in the second. Newcomb is 4-0 with a 0.36 ERA in four starts this month.
May 18 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Newcomb (4-1, 2.51 ERA) has pitched 20 consecutive scoreless innings as he attempts to win a second straight start against Miami.
Analysis: In three career starts in the series, Newcomb is 1-1 with a 3.18 ERA.
May 18 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-The Atlanta Braves have recalled right-hander Matt Wisler from Triple-A Gwinnett to make a spot start Friday against Miami and give Sean Newcomb an extra day of rest.
Analysis: Six of Newcomb's seven starts have come with an extra day of rest. He has a 1.98 ERA over that span and has pitched 20 consecutive scoreless innings.
May 13 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Sean Newcomb improved to 4-1, allowing one hit and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 4-3 on Sunday. Newcomb struck out six, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Sean Newcomb improved to 3-1, allowing two hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 1-0 on Tuesday. Newcomb struck out six, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Newcomb has thrown 13 scoreless innings over his last two starts for the Braves. He has a 1.78 ERA in his five road starts.
May 2 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Sean Newcomb improved to 2-1, allowing two hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 7-0 on Wednesday. Newcomb struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Sean Newcomb allowed four runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-4 on Thursday. Newcomb struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Sean Newcomb allowed three runs - two earned - on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the New York Mets 5-3 on Friday. Newcomb struck out five, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Sean Newcomb allowed three runs - two earned - on six hits and four walks in 5.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Chicago Cubs 14-10 on Saturday. Newcomb struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Sean Newcomb improved to 1-1, allowing five hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-0 on Sunday. Newcomb struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Sean Newcomb fell to 0-1, allowing six runs - five earned - on five hits and four walks in 4.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Washington Nationals 8-1 on Monday. Newcomb struck out six, ending the game with a 10.38 ERA and 2.08 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Atl 4 9 0 - 0 19 19 0 100.0 100 51 48 10 57 6 108 1.57 4.32
2018 Atl 5 1 0 - 0 9 9 0 52.2 36 17 14 3 24 0 58 1.14 2.39
Career 9 10 0 - 0 28 28 0 152.2 136 68 62 13 81 6 166 1.42 3.66

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Atl 19 27 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 17 0 0 .037 .103 .037
2018 Atl 9 15 3 2 1 0 0 0 1 11 0 0 .133 .188 .200
Career 28 42 4 3 1 0 0 0 3 28 0 0 .071 .133 .095


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 565 97 88 92.7 62.78
Curveball 131 79 72 76.6 14.56
Slider 7 81 79 80 .78
Changeup 197 90 84 86.9 21.89


@STATS_Insights