MLB

#54
Sonny Gray
ERA W-L K
3.80 7-7 141
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 5-10 / 195
Position: SPBorn: 11/7/1989 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 12 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)2:55 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 7-7, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 2-0 on Sunday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs - two earned - on three hits in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Monday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 7-6, allowing two runs on two hits in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 12-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 6-6, allowing three hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-1 on Thursday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 5-6, allowing one hit and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Friday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-4 on Sunday. Gray struck out two, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 4-6, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-4 on Thursday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 3-6, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the New York Mets 6-2 on Friday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 25 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST3:20 PM CST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 2-6, allowing eight runs on eight hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 10-6 on Sunday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 18 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)2:38 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 2-5, allowing five runs on six hits and four walks in 4.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-0 on Sunday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 8 11:28 AM PT12:28 PM MT1:28 PM CT2:28 PM ET14:28 ET18:28 GMT2:28 11:28 AM MST1:28 PM EST12:28 PM CST1:58 PM VEN22:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Gray (strained rib cage) has been activated from the injured list and will start Sunday's game against the Brewers.
Analysis: The Reds put Gray on the IL one day after he struck out seven over seven innings of two-run ball in a 5-2 win over the Royals on July 7. It was his second start since returning from a 3 1/2-week stint on the IL due to a right groin strain.
July 7 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST4:36 PM CST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 2-4, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Friday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 9 1:29 PM PT2:29 PM MT3:29 PM CT4:29 PM ET16:29 ET20:29 GMT4:29 1:29 PM MST3:29 PM EST2:29 PM CST3:59 PM VEN0:29 UAE (+1)2:29 PM CT-Gray (right groin strain) has been activated from the injured list to start Friday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Gray (1-4, 3.42) has been declared ready to go after throwing 53 pitches while throwing three scoreless innings in Saturday's rehab start for Triple-A Louisville. The right-hander may be on a pitch limit for Friday's outing, so fantasy players should take note.
June 8 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two hits without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-1 on Tuesday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 1 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 1-4, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 17-3 on Tuesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 27 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST7:16 PM CST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 1-3, allowing two hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Washington Nationals 3-0 on Thursday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 22 4:23 PM PT5:23 PM MT6:23 PM CT7:23 PM ET19:23 ET23:23 GMT7:23 4:23 PM MST6:23 PM EST5:23 PM CST6:53 PM VEN3:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Saturday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 17 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST7:47 PM CST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)7:47 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-3, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-3 on Monday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 12 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)2:35 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-1 on Wednesday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 5 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST1:53 PM CST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago White Sox 1-0 on Wednesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST5:32 PM CST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-2, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-0 on Wednesday. Gray struck out 11, ending the game with a 5.93 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Friday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 7.88 ERA and 2.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST6:03 PM CST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Saturday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 15 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST4:35 PM CST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Gray (back) will make his season debut Saturday against the Indians.
Analysis: Gray is believed to be fully stretched out after throwing a simulated game this past Saturday, so he should be worth considering for daily lineups. The right-hander sports a very solid 3.07 ERA in two seasons since joining the Reds in 2019.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Oak 5 3 0 - 0 12 10 0 64.0 51 22 19 4 20 0 67 1.11 2.67
2014 Oak 14 10 0 - 0 33 33 2 219.0 187 84 75 15 74 2 183 1.19 3.08
2015 Oak 14 7 0 - 0 31 31 3 208.0 166 71 63 17 59 0 169 1.08 2.73
2016 Oak 5 11 0 - 0 22 22 0 117.0 133 80 74 18 42 0 94 1.50 5.69
2017 Oak 6 5 0 - 0 16 16 0 97.0 84 48 37 8 30 0 94 1.18 3.43
2017 NYY 4 7 0 - 0 11 11 1 65.1 55 31 27 11 27 1 59 1.26 3.72
2017 Tot 10 12 0 - 0 27 27 1 162.1 139 79 64 19 57 1 153 1.21 3.55
2018 NYY 11 9 0 - 0 30 23 0 130.1 138 73 71 14 57 0 123 1.50 4.90
2019 Cin 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 175.1 122 59 56 17 68 1 205 1.08 2.87
2020 Cin 5 3 0 - 0 11 11 0 56.0 42 26 23 4 26 0 72 1.21 3.70
2021 Cin 7 7 0 - 0 23 23 0 120.2 101 54 51 16 42 1 141 1.19 3.80
Career 82 70 0 - 0 220 211 6 1252.2 1079 548 496 124 445 5 1207 1.22 3.56

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Oak 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Oak 31 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2016 Oak 22 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 NYY 30 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Cin 34 46 3 7 0 1 0 3 2 19 0 0 .152 .188 .196
2021 Cin 23 38 4 6 0 0 0 0 1 9 0 0 .158 .179 .158
Career 223 96 8 14 0 1 0 3 3 34 0 0 .146 .172 .167

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Oak Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
2017 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 4 5 4 1 6 0 6 4.32
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 3 3 3 1 4 0 2 8.10
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 1 2 1 0 2 0 4 1.80
Career 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 21.1 14 8 7 2 12 1 18 2.95


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1059 95 89 92.4 53.51
Curveball 468 83 69 79.4 23.65
Slider 307 87 78 82.2 15.51
Changeup 71 92 83 88.4 3.59
Cut Fastball 74 88 81 83.6 3.74


@STATS_Insights