MLB

#40
Alex Wood
ERA W-L K
5.80 1-3 30
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-4 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 1/12/1991 Birthplace: Charlotte, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 2nd Round by Braves (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 2 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST3:44 PM CST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Wood (back) will not start Tuesday against the Phillies.
Analysis: A back injury prevented Wood from making his Reds debut until July 28, and the left-hander is just 1-3 with a 5.80 ERA in seven starts.
Aug. 29 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Alex Wood allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Miami Marlins 4-3 on Thursday. Wood struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.80 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Alex Wood fell to 1-3, allowing five runs - four earned - on two hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 14-0 on Saturday. Wood struck out one, ending the game with a 6.07 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Alex Wood fell to 1-2, allowing five runs - four earned - on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Sunday. Wood struck out six, ending the game with a 5.92 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Alex Wood fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 3-1 on Tuesday. Wood struck out four, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Alex Wood allowed five runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 12-5 on Thursday. Wood struck out two, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Alex Wood improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-2 on Friday. Wood struck out five, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Alex Wood allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Sunday. Wood struck out four, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 18 5:22 PM PT6:22 PM MT7:22 PM CT8:22 PM ET20:22 ET0:22 GMT8:22 5:22 PM MST7:22 PM EST6:22 PM CST7:52 PM VEN4:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Wood (back) will make his belated season and Reds debut Sunday against the Rockies.
Analysis: Wood is finally ready to go after throwing 85 pitches Monday in his fourth minor league rehab start, a six-inning outing for Double-A Chattanooga in which he allowed just one run. The left-hander, who went 16-3 for the Dodgers in 2017, could be a useful stretch-run pickup provided he can stay healthy.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Atl 3 3 0 - 0 31 11 0 77.2 76 29 27 3 27 1 77 1.33 3.13
2014 Atl 11 11 0 - 0 35 24 1 171.2 151 58 53 16 45 1 170 1.14 2.78
2015 Atl 7 6 0 - 0 20 20 0 119.1 132 50 47 8 36 2 90 1.41 3.54
2015 LAD 5 6 0 - 0 12 12 0 70.1 66 36 34 7 23 2 49 1.27 4.35
2015 Tot 12 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 189.2 198 86 81 15 59 4 139 1.36 3.84
2016 LAD 1 4 0 - 0 14 10 0 60.1 56 30 25 5 20 0 66 1.26 3.73
2017 LAD 16 3 0 - 0 27 25 0 152.1 123 50 46 15 38 6 151 1.06 2.72
2018 LAD 9 7 0 - 0 33 27 0 151.2 143 70 62 14 40 5 135 1.21 3.68
2019 Cin 1 3 0 - 0 7 7 0 35.2 41 25 23 11 9 0 30 1.40 5.80
Career 53 43 0 - 0 179 136 1 839.0 788 348 317 79 238 17 768 1.22 3.40

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl 31 21 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Atl 35 41 1 3 0 0 0 2 2 28 0 0 .073 .116 .073
2015 Atl 20 33 1 5 1 0 0 4 3 21 0 0 .152 .222 .182
2015 LAD 12 22 1 4 1 0 0 0 1 13 0 0 .182 .217 .227
2015 Tot 32 55 2 9 2 0 0 4 4 34 0 0 .164 .220 .200
2016 LAD 15 16 2 4 0 0 0 2 1 9 0 0 .250 .294 .250
2017 LAD 27 52 1 3 0 0 0 4 2 29 0 0 .058 .093 .058
2018 LAD 33 44 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 25 1 0 .045 .045 .045
2019 Cin 7 9 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .222 .222 .222
Career 180 238 8 23 2 0 0 12 9 145 1 0 .097 .130 .105

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Atl Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 6.2 6 8 0 2 0 0 6 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 3 4 0 1 0 0 3 0.00
2015 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 8 8 8 2 4 2 4 18.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 4 4 4 1 2 1 2 18.00
2016 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 4 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2017 LAD Total 0 2 0 - 0 6 4 0 24.2 10 8 8 8 4 0 26 2.92
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 4 3 3 3 0 0 7 5.79
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.2 1 1 1 1 2 0 6 1.17
2018 LAD Total 2 2 0 - 0 18 0 0 13.1 16 8 8 6 8 4 18 5.40
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.0 3 1 1 1 0 0 1 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 3.1 2 1 1 1 3 2 6 2.70
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 3 2 2 1 1 0 2 7.71
Career 1 2 0 - 0 16 2 0 26.1 22 16 12 9 8 3 28 4.10

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl Total 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    LDS 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
2017 LAD Total 6 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 16 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 295 93 87 90 50.34
Curveball 145 84 79 81.5 24.74
Changeup 146 85 81 83.7 24.91


@STATS_Insights