MLB

#52
Michael Wacha
ERA W-L K
5.05 3-5 121
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-6 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/1/1991 Birthplace: Iowa City, Iowa
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Cardinals (2012)


Latest News
Oct. 8 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed six runs on nine hits in 2.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 14-6 on Friday. Wacha struck out four, ending the game with a 20.25 ERA and 3.38 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 3 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST4:19 PM CST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 1-0 on Sunday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 5.05 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 28 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Michael Wacha walked two and didn't allow a hit in 5.0 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Houston Astros 4-3 on Tuesday. Wacha struck out six, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)8:33 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on three hits in 3.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2 on Tuesday. Wacha struck out four, ending the game with a 5.49 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 3-5, allowing six runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-3 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on three hits in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 10-4 on Friday. Wacha struck out six, ending the game with a 5.37 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST7:40 PM CST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 3-4, allowing two runs on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 5-3 on Friday. Wacha struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-3 on Saturday. Wacha struck out six, ending the game with a 5.70 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed four runs - three earned - on eight hits in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-5 on Friday. Wacha struck out nine, ending the game with a 5.88 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 2-4, allowing seven runs on 11 hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 12-0 on Saturday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST2:43 PM CST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)2:43 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed five runs on 10 hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-6 on Sunday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 5.49 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 2-3, allowing six runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 8-2 on Monday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run - zero earned - on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 3-1 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 21 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST1:07 PM CST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE1:07 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed three runs on six hits in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 5.16 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 16 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed four runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-6 on Friday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 7 11:27 AM PT12:27 PM MT1:27 PM CT2:27 PM ET14:27 ET18:27 GMT2:27 11:27 AM MST1:27 PM EST12:27 PM CST1:57 PM VEN22:27 UAE12:27 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 2-2, allowing one run on four hits in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-1 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out six, ending the game with a 4.87 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 30 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST5:55 PM CST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed five runs on seven hits and two walks in 3.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Washington Nationals 15-6 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
June 24 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 1-0 on Thursday. Wacha struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 19 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on 11 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-1 on Friday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 19 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on 11 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-1 on Friday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 13 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)2:02 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-1 on Sunday. Wacha did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 6 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST4:26 PM CST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 2.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 7-1 on Sunday. Wacha struck out one, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 31 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE1:55 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on one hit in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 3-1 on Monday. Wacha did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 27 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST3:54 PM CST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed two runs on four hits in 3.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-2 on Thursday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)2:16 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-4 on Sunday. Wacha struck out one, ending the game with a 4.45 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 2 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)2:38 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed four runs on five hits in 2.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 5-4 on Sunday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Tuesday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-8 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out one, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 1-1, allowing one hit and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 8-2 on Friday. Wacha struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)2:58 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed three runs on three hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 8-4 on Sunday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 0-1, allowing five runs - four earned - on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 11-2 on Monday. Wacha struck out six, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 4 1 0 - 1 15 9 0 64.2 52 20 20 5 19 0 65 1.10 2.78
2014 StL 5 6 0 - 0 19 19 0 107.0 95 41 38 6 33 0 94 1.20 3.20
2015 StL 17 7 0 - 0 30 30 0 181.1 162 74 68 19 58 4 153 1.21 3.38
2016 StL 7 7 0 - 0 27 24 0 138.0 159 86 78 15 45 6 114 1.48 5.09
2017 StL 12 9 0 - 0 30 30 1 165.2 170 82 76 17 55 3 158 1.36 4.13
2018 StL 8 2 0 - 0 15 15 0 84.1 68 36 30 9 36 0 71 1.23 3.20
2019 StL 6 7 0 - 0 29 24 0 126.2 143 71 67 26 55 4 104 1.56 4.76
2020 NYM 1 4 0 - 0 8 7 0 34.0 46 26 25 9 7 0 37 1.56 6.62
2021 TB 3 5 0 - 0 29 23 0 124.2 132 73 70 23 31 0 121 1.31 5.05
Career 63 48 0 - 1 202 181 1 1026.1 1027 509 472 129 339 17 917 1.33 4.14

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 15 21 0 3 0 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2014 StL 19 29 1 1 0 0 0 2 0 18 0 0 .034 .034 .034
2015 StL 30 52 5 8 1 0 0 4 4 20 1 0 .154 .214 .173
2016 StL 27 39 1 1 0 0 0 0 3 22 0 0 .026 .095 .026
2017 StL 30 46 3 2 0 0 0 3 1 22 0 0 .043 .063 .043
2018 StL 15 25 3 2 0 0 0 1 1 9 0 0 .080 .115 .080
2019 StL 29 36 3 6 1 0 0 3 0 21 0 0 .167 .167 .194
2021 TB 30 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 203 251 16 23 2 0 0 16 9 125 1 0 .092 .123 .100

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 4 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 30.2 16 9 9 3 12 3 33 2.64
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 1 1 1 1 2 0 9 1.23
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.2 7 0 0 0 2 1 13 0.00
    WS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.2 8 8 8 2 8 2 11 7.45
2014 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 81.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 81.00
2015 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 6 4 4 3 3 1 5 8.31
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 6 4 4 3 3 1 5 8.31
2021 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.2 9 6 6 1 0 0 4 20.25
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.2 9 6 6 1 0 0 4 20.25
Career 4 3 0 - 0 8 6 0 38.0 33 22 22 8 16 4 42 5.21

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL Total 5 7 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 5 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 StL Total 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 8 9 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 787 98 89 93.8 39.89
Curveball 124 80 73 76.3 6.28
Changeup 577 90 80 86.9 29.24
Cut Fastball 485 94 85 89.1 24.58


@STATS_Insights