MLB

#26
Avisaíl García
AVG HR RBI
.333 8 34
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-4 / 240 NFBC ADP: 408.10
Position: RFBorn: 6/12/1991 Birthplace: Anzoategui, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Tigers (2007)


Latest News
May 24 6:37 PM PT7:37 PM MT8:37 PM CT9:37 PM ET21:37 ET1:37 GMT9:37 6:37 PM MST8:37 PM EST9:07 PM VEN5:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 8-6. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia, who is 0 for 11 in his last four games, is hitting .357 in his last seven on Chicago's South Side.
May 23 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Garcia was scratched from Tuesday's lineup against Arizona due to illness, but he's back in the lineup on Wednesday.
Analysis: Garcia did enter as a pinch hitter in the eighth inning on Tuesday and drew an intentional walk. He's 0 for 7 in his last two games following a four-hit, two-homer performance at Seattle on Saturday.
May 23 6:45 AM PT7:45 AM MT8:45 AM CT9:45 AM ET9:45 ET13:45 GMT21:45 6:45 AM MST8:45 AM EST9:15 AM VEN17:45 UAE8:45 AM CT-Garcia went 0 for 4 Monday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-1. He ended the game with a .342 batting average.
Analysis: He's 0 for 7 in two games following a four-hit, two-homer game at Seattle.
May 22 10:06 AM PT11:06 AM MT12:06 PM CT1:06 PM ET13:06 ET17:06 GMT1:06 10:06 AM MST12:06 PM EST12:36 PM VEN21:06 UAE12:06 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Seattle Mariners 8-1. He ended the game with a .350 batting average.
May 21 7:51 AM PT8:51 AM MT9:51 AM CT10:51 AM ET10:51 ET14:51 GMT22:51 7:51 AM MST9:51 AM EST10:21 AM VEN18:51 UAE9:51 AM CT-Garcia went 4 for 5 with two doubles, two home runs and six RBIs Saturday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Seattle Mariners 16-1. The homers were his seventh and eighth of the season. Garcia scored three times. He ended the game with a .357 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia was the third White Sox player to have four extra-base hits and six RBIs in a game, joining Robin Ventura and Pat Seerey.
May 20 10:24 AM PT11:24 AM MT12:24 PM CT1:24 PM ET13:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE12:24 PM CT-Garcia went 0 for 4 Friday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Seattle Mariners 2-1. He ended the game with a .342 batting average.
Analysis: Avi had seven hits in the previous three games for the 'Good Guys.'
May 19 7:47 AM PT8:47 AM MT9:47 AM CT10:47 AM ET10:47 ET14:47 GMT22:47 7:47 AM MST9:47 AM EST10:17 AM VEN18:47 UAE9:47 AM CT-Avisail Garcia went 2 for 4 with a triple Thursday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4. He ended the game with a .352 batting average.
May 18 7:37 AM PT8:37 AM MT9:37 AM CT10:37 AM ET10:37 ET14:37 GMT22:37 7:37 AM MST9:37 AM EST10:07 AM VEN18:37 UAE9:37 AM CT-Avisail Garcia went 3 for 5 with a double and two RBIs Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 12-8. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .348 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia is 11 for 28 with five extra-base hits over his last seven games.
May 17 10:10 AM PT11:10 AM MT12:10 PM CT1:10 PM ET13:10 ET17:10 GMT1:10 10:10 AM MST12:10 PM EST12:40 PM VEN21:10 UAE12:10 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Los Angeles Angels 7-6. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .338 batting average.
Analysis: The career .265 hitter is fourth in the AL in batting average, also leading the White Sox with 26 RBIs and 22 runs.
May 16 6:38 AM PT7:38 AM MT8:38 AM CT9:38 AM ET9:38 ET13:38 GMT21:38 6:38 AM MST8:38 AM EST9:08 AM VEN17:38 UAE8:38 AM CT-Avisail Garcia went 0 for 3 Monday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-3. He ended the game with a .336 batting average.
May 14 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox beat the San Diego Padres 9-3. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .344 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia, who is 6 for 15 with a homer and two doubles in his last four games, is 3 for 3 with a double against Jesse Chavez, the scheduled starter for Monday's series opener in Anaheim.
May 13 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago White Sox beat the San Diego Padres 5-4. He ended the game with a .347 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia's homer was his sixth of the season and he is 5 for 11 in his last three games.
May 13 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 2 for 4 with a double Friday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the San Diego Padres 6-3. He ended the game with a .347 batting average.
May 12 9:04 PM PT10:04 PM MT11:04 PM CT12:04 AM ET0:04 ET4:04 GMT12:04 9:04 PM MST11:04 PM EST11:34 PM VEN8:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 2 for 4 with a double Thursday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Minnesota Twins 7-6. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .342 batting average.
May 10 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-2. He ended the game with a .336 batting average.
May 7 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Garcia went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 4-0. He ended the game with a .349 batting average.
Analysis: Avi went 2 for 12 in the four-game series with Baltimore.
May 6 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5. He ended the game with a .362 batting average.
May 5 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 1 for 4 with an RBI Friday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 4-2. He ended the game with a .366 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia had an RBI for the eighth time in 11 games Friday. At .366, he dropped behind the Yankees' Starlin Castro into second for the AL batting lead.
May 4 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 2 for 5 with two RBIs Thursday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Kansas City Royals 8-3. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .371 batting average.
May 4 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Avisail Garcia went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-1. He ended the game with a .370 batting average.
Apr. 30 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Garcia returned to the White Sox's lineup and went 2 for 2 with an RBI and two runs scored in Tuesday's 6-0 win over the Royals. He ended the game with a .382 batting average.
Analysis: A one-game absence caused by a minor groin injury didn't prevent Garcia's hot bat from cooling off. The Chicago right fielder is 10 for 23 (.435) with two homers, seven RBIs and seven runs scored over the last six games of what's shaping up as a breakout season.
Apr. 29 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Avisail Garcia went 1 for 5 with a triple and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Detroit Tigers 6-4. He ended the game with a .376 batting average.
Apr. 29 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE12:09 AM CT-Avisail Garcia went 3 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Detroit Tigers 7-3. The homer was his fifth of the season. Garcia scored twice. He ended the game with a .388 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia, the American League's leading hitter, is 7 for 14 with two homers, five RBIs and five runs in his last three games.
Apr. 26 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)6:32 PM CT-Garcia's two-run home run in the sixth inning broke a tie and lifted the White Sox to a 5-2 victory Wednesday over the Royals.
Analysis: Garcia is one of the majors' early surprises with a .373 average and 17 RBIs in 20 games.
Apr. 26 7:25 AM PT8:25 AM MT9:25 AM CT10:25 AM ET10:25 ET14:25 GMT22:25 7:25 AM MST9:25 AM EST9:55 AM VEN18:25 UAE9:25 AM CT-Garcia had three more hits with an RBI on Tuesday.
Analysis: Garcia is one of the majors' early surprises with a .380 average and 15 RBIs.
Apr. 21 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Garcia failed to reach base for the first time this season Friday, going 0 for 3 against the Indians.
Analysis: Garcia entered the game leading the majors with a .423 batting average, and he ranked second with a 1.137 OPS.
Apr. 18 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Garcia homered in Tuesday's 4-1 win at Yankee Stadium.
Analysis: Garcia, baseball's batting leader with a .440 average, is 3 for 6 with a double lifetime against Masahiro Tanaka, the Yankees' scheduled starter for Wednesday.
Apr. 16 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-Garcia went 4 for 5 with his second home run in Sunday's loss to the Twins.
Analysis: Garcia has been outstanding so far this season. He's hitting .465 with 10 RBIs in 11 games.
Apr. 13 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Garcia was 3 for 4 with three RBIs in Thursday's 10-4 win over the Indians.
Analysis: Garcia is off to an outstanding start, batting .452 with eight RBIs in eight games this season.
Apr. 9 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Garcia singled and drove in Chicago's only run in a loss to the Twins on Sunday.
Analysis: Garcia is off to a sizzling start, batting .474 with five RBIs. The White Sox visit the Indians on Monday, and Garcia is 4 for 17 with a homer and six strikeouts against scheduled starter Carlos Carrasco.
Apr. 8 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Garcia went 3 for 4 with three RBIs Saturday against the Twins. He fell a double shy of the cycle after hitting an RBI triple and two-run homer.
Analysis: He's off to a hot start, hitting safely in all four games while going 8 for 16.
Apr. 4 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Garcia singled twice Tuesday against the Tigers.
Analysis: Garcia hit .245 with 12 home runs, 51 RBIs and 59 runs over 120 games with Chicago last season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Det 23 47 7 15 0 0 0 3 3 10 0 2 .319 .373 .319
2013 Det 30 83 12 20 3 1 2 10 4 21 0 1 .241 .273 .373
2013 CWS 42 161 19 49 4 2 5 21 5 38 3 2 .304 .327 .447
2013 Tot 72 244 31 69 7 3 7 31 9 59 3 3 .283 .309 .422
2014 CWS 46 172 19 42 8 0 7 29 14 44 4 1 .244 .305 .413
2015 CWS 148 553 66 142 17 2 13 59 36 141 7 7 .257 .309 .365
2016 CWS 120 413 59 101 18 2 12 51 34 115 4 4 .245 .307 .385
2017 CWS 44 165 26 55 9 3 8 34 8 34 0 2 .333 .379 .570
Career 453 1594 208 424 59 10 47 207 104 403 18 19 .266 .317 .404

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Det Total 12 23 0 6 1 0 0 4 2 5 1 0 .261 .320 .304
    LDS 5 7 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .143 .250 .143
    LCS 4 11 0 5 1 0 0 3 0 1 1 0 .455 .455 .545
    WS 3 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .167 .000
Career 12 23 0 6 1 0 0 4 2 5 1 0 .261 .320 .304



@STATS_Insights