MLB

#11
Yu Darvish
ERA W-L K
2.01 8-3 93
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-5 / 216
Position: SPBorn: 8/16/1986 Birthplace: Osaka, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
Oct. 2 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 2-0 on Friday. Darvish struck out six, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 8-3, allowing three hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-0 on Friday. Darvish struck out five, ending the game with a 2.01 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 7-3, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-0 on Sunday. Darvish struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.22 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed three runs on nine hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-5 on Tuesday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 7-2, allowing three runs on two hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 3-0 on Wednesday. Darvish struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.77 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 7-1, allowing one run on one hit in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1 on Friday. Darvish struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.44 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST5:06 PM CST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)6:06 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 6-1, allowing seven hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-0 on Saturday. Darvish struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.47 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST3:42 PM CST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 5-1, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 2-1 on Sunday. Darvish struck out 10, ending the game with a 1.70 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 4-1, allowing one run on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-3 on Tuesday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 3-1, allowing one run on one hit and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Thursday. Darvish struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.88 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 2-1, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-1 on Wednesday. Darvish struck out four, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 9:07 PM PT10:07 PM MT11:07 PM CT12:07 AM ET0:07 ET4:07 GMT12:07 9:07 PM MST11:07 PM EST10:07 PM CST11:37 PM VEN8:07 UAE11:07 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 1-1, allowing two hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-3 on Friday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
July 25 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)3:49 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on six hits in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-3 on Saturday. Darvish struck out five, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Tex 16 9 0 - 0 29 29 0 191.1 156 89 83 14 89 1 221 1.28 3.90
2013 Tex 13 9 0 - 0 32 32 0 209.2 145 68 66 26 80 1 277 1.07 2.83
2014 Tex 10 7 0 - 0 22 22 2 144.1 133 54 49 13 49 1 182 1.26 3.06
2016 Tex 7 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 100.1 81 43 38 12 31 1 132 1.12 3.41
2017 Tex 6 9 0 - 0 22 22 0 137.0 115 63 61 20 45 0 148 1.17 4.01
2017 LAD 4 3 0 - 0 9 9 0 49.2 44 20 19 7 13 1 61 1.15 3.44
2017 Tot 10 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 186.2 159 83 80 27 58 1 209 1.16 3.86
2018 ChC 1 3 0 - 0 8 8 0 40.0 36 24 22 7 21 0 49 1.43 4.95
2019 ChC 6 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 178.2 140 82 79 33 56 1 229 1.10 3.98
2020 ChC 8 3 0 - 0 12 12 0 76.0 59 18 17 5 14 1 93 0.96 2.01
Career 71 56 0 - 0 182 182 2 1127.0 909 461 434 137 398 7 1392 1.16 3.47

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Tex 29 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2013 Tex 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tex 22 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .400
2016 Tex 17 3 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 1.333
2017 LAD 9 17 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 14 0 0 .059 .111 .059
2017 Tot 31 17 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 14 0 0 .059 .111 .059
2018 ChC 8 12 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .083 .083 .167
2019 ChC 31 56 1 5 0 0 0 3 2 31 0 0 .089 .119 .089
Career 182 99 2 10 2 0 1 4 3 58 0 0 .101 .126 .152

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Tex Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.1 10 6 4 0 0 0 14 2.70
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 3 2 0 0 0 7 2.70
2016 Tex Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 10 10 10 8 2 0 8 9.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 4 1 0 4 9.00
2017 LAD Total 4 4 0 - 0 8 8 0 29.1 34 22 20 8 6 0 28 6.14
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 2 1 1 1 0 0 7 1.80
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 6 1 1 1 1 0 7 1.42
    WS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 3.1 9 9 8 2 2 0 0 21.60
2020 ChC Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.1 10 4 4 2 4 2 12 2.70
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 2 2 1 2 1 6 2.70
Career 2 5 0 - 0 7 7 0 33.0 32 21 19 9 6 1 31 5.18

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 LAD Total 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 4 0 0 .000 .200 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 0 0 .000 .333 .000
Career 7 4 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 279 98 91 95.6 24.2
Curveball 148 84 63 77.6 12.84
Slider 580 92 77 85 50.3
Changeup 32 93 86 89.6 2.78
Split-Finger 63 93 85 90.8 5.46
Cut Fastball 51 95 90 92.7 4.42


@STATS_Insights