MLB

#41
Chris Sale
ERA W-L K
2.57 5-0 39
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-6 / 183
Position: SPBorn: 3/30/1989 Birthplace: Lakeland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by White Sox (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 22 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 5-0, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 12-5 on Wednesday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 4-0, allowing one run on two hits in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-1 on Friday. Sale struck out one, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST3:45 PM CST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Sale (COVID-19) was activated Friday and will start against the Orioles.
Analysis: Sale is 3-0 with a 2.52 ERA in five starts this season after recovering from Tommy John surgery. He's struck out 30 over 25 innings.
Sep. 6 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed five runs - one earned - on 10 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 11-10 on Monday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Wednesday. Sale struck out three, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 3-0, allowing two runs on two hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 12-2 on Thursday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 2-0, allowing five hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 6-0 on Friday. Sale struck out five, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST5:32 PM CST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 16-2 on Saturday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 CWS 2 1 4 - 4 21 0 0 23.1 15 5 5 2 10 0 32 1.07 1.93
2011 CWS 2 2 8 - 10 58 0 0 71.0 52 22 22 6 27 3 79 1.11 2.79
2012 CWS 17 8 0 - 1 30 29 1 192.0 167 66 65 19 51 5 192 1.14 3.05
2013 CWS 11 14 0 - 0 30 30 4 214.1 184 81 73 23 46 2 226 1.07 3.07
2014 CWS 12 4 0 - 0 26 26 2 174.0 129 48 42 13 39 2 208 0.97 2.17
2015 CWS 13 11 0 - 0 31 31 1 208.2 185 88 79 23 42 0 274 1.09 3.41
2016 CWS 17 10 0 - 0 32 32 6 226.2 190 88 84 27 45 2 233 1.04 3.34
2017 Bos 17 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 214.1 165 73 69 24 43 0 308 0.97 2.90
2018 Bos 12 4 0 - 0 27 27 0 158.0 102 39 37 11 34 0 237 0.86 2.11
2019 Bos 6 11 0 - 0 25 25 1 147.1 123 80 72 24 37 0 218 1.09 4.40
2021 Bos 5 0 0 - 0 7 7 0 35.0 37 14 10 5 8 0 39 1.29 2.57
Career 114 73 12 - 15 319 239 16 1664.2 1349 604 558 177 382 14 2046 1.04 3.02

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 CWS 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 CWS 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 CWS 31 9 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2016 CWS 32 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Bos 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2018 Bos 27 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 319 25 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .120 .120 .160

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Bos Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
    LDS 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
2018 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 5 3 0 15.1 11 7 7 1 8 0 24 4.11
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.1 5 2 2 0 2 0 9 2.84
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 1 2 2 0 4 0 5 4.50
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 5.0 5 3 3 1 2 0 10 5.40
Career 1 2 0 - 0 7 4 0 25.0 24 16 16 5 9 0 36 5.76


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 289 98 88 93.5 49.07
Slider 177 82 73 78.2 30.05
Changeup 123 90 82 86.4 20.88


@STATS_Insights