MLB

#46
Iván Nova
ERA W-L K
4.72 11-12 114
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-5 / 250
Position: SPBorn: 1/12/1987 Birthplace: Palenque, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 28 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-3 on Saturday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 4.72 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 11-12, allowing two runs on eight hits in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Saturday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Ivan Nova walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 3-1 on Wednesday. Nova struck out one, ending the game with a 4.83 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST6:02 PM CST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed five runs on 10 hits and one walk in 3.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 11-10 on Sunday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 10-12, allowing three runs on six hits in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Tuesday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 9-12, allowing six runs on 11 hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-6 on Wednesday. Nova struck out one, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 9-11, allowing five runs - four earned - on eight hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Atlanta Braves 10-7 on Friday. Nova did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.48 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 9-10, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 4-0 on Saturday. Nova struck out six, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST9:42 PM CST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 9-9, allowing two runs on 10 hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-4 on Monday. Nova struck out two, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 8-9, allowing one run - zero earned - on four hits in 9.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Houston Astros 4-1 on Tuesday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.51 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 7-9, allowing five hits and three walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 8-1 on Wednesday. Nova struck out one, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST10:42 PM CST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed two runs - one earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Friday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 5.10 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 6-9, allowing one run - zero earned - on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 5-1 on Saturday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 22 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 5-9, allowing one run on four hits in 9.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 9-1 on Monday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with a 5.49 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
July 17 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 4-9, allowing six runs on six hits and five walks in 4.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-5 on Wednesday. Nova struck out two, ending the game with a 5.86 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 13 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST11:21 PM CST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 4-8, allowing four runs on 10 hits in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-1 on Friday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 5.60 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
July 7 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 4-7, allowing five hits and one walk over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-1 on Sunday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 29 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 3-7, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 10-3 on Saturday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 5.92 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
June 23 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST4:22 PM CST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 3-6, allowing five runs - three earned - on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 7-4 on Sunday. Nova struck out six, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
June 18 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-1 on Tuesday. Nova struck out one, ending the game with a 6.01 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the New York Yankees 5-4 on Thursday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with a 6.28 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
June 7 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST9:42 PM CST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-4 on Friday. Nova struck out six, ending the game with a 6.28 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 1 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST3:03 PM CST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 3-5, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-2 on Saturday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 6.24 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 3-4, allowing three runs on 10 hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Houston Astros 9-4 on Wednesday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 6.96 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 2-4, allowing nine runs - eight earned - on eight hits and four walks in 3.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 10-2 on Friday. Nova struck out one, ending the game with a 7.42 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 11 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST4:31 PM CST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 2-3, allowing one run on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-2 on Saturday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 6.29 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
May 6 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST7:16 PM CST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 1-3, allowing one run on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 9-1 on Monday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST9:57 PM CST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed five runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Wednesday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with an 8.33 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 0-3, allowing nine runs on 11 hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 9-1 on Tuesday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with an 8.42 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed six runs on 11 hits in 6.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 9-7 on Thursday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST1:41 PM CST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 0-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the New York Yankees 4-0 on Saturday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST4:03 PM CST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 0-1, allowing seven runs on seven hits and one walk in 2.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 12-5 on Sunday. Nova struck out two, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-3 on Monday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 NYY 1 2 0 - 1 10 7 0 42.0 44 22 21 4 17 2 26 1.45 4.50
2011 NYY 16 4 0 - 0 28 27 0 165.1 163 74 68 13 57 3 98 1.33 3.70
2012 NYY 12 8 0 - 0 28 28 0 170.1 194 100 95 28 56 3 153 1.47 5.02
2013 NYY 9 6 0 - 0 23 20 3 139.1 135 49 48 9 44 3 116 1.28 3.10
2014 NYY 2 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.2 32 19 19 6 6 0 12 1.84 8.27
2015 NYY 6 11 0 - 0 17 17 0 94.0 99 54 53 13 33 0 63 1.40 5.07
2016 NYY 7 6 1 - 1 21 15 0 97.1 107 54 53 19 25 1 75 1.36 4.90
2016 Pit 5 2 0 - 0 11 11 3 64.2 68 27 22 4 3 0 52 1.10 3.06
2016 Tot 12 8 1 - 1 32 26 3 162.0 175 81 75 23 28 1 127 1.25 4.17
2017 Pit 11 14 0 - 0 31 31 2 187.0 203 96 86 29 36 2 131 1.28 4.14
2018 Pit 9 9 0 - 0 29 29 0 161.0 171 82 75 26 35 4 114 1.28 4.19
2019 CWS 11 12 0 - 0 34 34 2 187.0 225 107 98 30 47 1 114 1.45 4.72
Career 89 76 1 - 2 236 223 10 1328.2 1441 684 638 181 359 19 954 1.35 4.32

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 NYY 28 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 NYY 28 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2013 NYY 23 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 NYY 21 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Pit 11 22 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .136 .136 .136
2016 Tot 32 26 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .115 .115 .115
2017 Pit 31 51 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 31 0 0 .020 .020 .020
2018 Pit 29 53 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 30 0 0 .019 .019 .019
2019 CWS 34 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 236 149 2 6 0 0 0 0 0 96 0 0 .040 .040 .040

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 NYY Total 2 2 0 - 0 4 2 0 16.2 14 8 8 4 8 0 16 4.32
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 7 4 4 2 4 0 8 4.32
Career 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 7 4 4 2 4 0 8 4.32


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1625 96 89 92.4 54.11
Curveball 504 84 75 79.9 16.78
Slider 388 91 83 86.8 12.92
Changeup 486 89 83 86.3 16.18


@STATS_Insights