MLB

#5
Alex Avila
AVG HR RBI
.149 4 10
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 5-11 / 210
Position: CBorn: 1/29/1987 Birthplace: Hialeah, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 5th Round by Tigers (2008)


Latest News
July 15 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Atlanta Braves 5-1. He ended the game with a .148 batting average.
July 13 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 3 with a double Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Atlanta Braves 2-1. Avila scored once. He ended the game with a .149 batting average.
July 11 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Colorado Rockies 19-2. He ended the game with a .144 batting average.
July 8 10:35 PM PT11:35 PM MT12:35 AM CT1:35 AM ET1:35 ET5:35 GMT13:35 10:35 PM MST12:35 AM EST11:35 PM CST1:05 AM VEN9:35 UAE12:35 AM CT-Alex Avila went 3 for 3 with a home run and three RBIs Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the San Diego Padres 20-5. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .148 batting average.
June 27 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Avila has been activated from the 10-day disabled list after dealing with a strained right hamstring.
Analysis: Though he went 2 for 4 with a homer and three RBIs Thursday in his most recent appearance, Avila is hitting a paltry .124 with 54 strikeouts and 105 at-bats for the season. John Ryan Murphy has become the Arizona catcher to own for fantasy purposes.
June 21 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Alex Avila went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and three RBIs Thursday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-3. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .124 batting average.
June 17 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST5:39 PM CST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the New York Mets 5-3. He ended the game with a .109 batting average.
June 16 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST11:02 PM CST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE12:02 AM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 4 Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the New York Mets 7-3. He ended the game with a .113 batting average.
June 13 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST4:50 PM CST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-4. He ended the game with a .118 batting average.
June 9 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 2 Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Colorado Rockies 12-7. He ended the game with a .120 batting average.
June 6 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST5:27 PM CST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the San Francisco Giants 5-4. He ended the game with a .122 batting average.
June 5 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST11:24 PM CST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE12:24 AM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Monday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 10-3. He ended the game with a .128 batting average.
June 3 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST4:59 PM CST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the Miami Marlins 6-1. He ended the game with a .129 batting average.
May 30 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 1 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-4. He ended the game with a .131 batting average.
May 30 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST10:22 PM CST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the Cincinnati Reds 5-2. He ended the game with a .120 batting average.
May 26 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST4:25 PM CST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Oakland Athletics 3-0. He ended the game with a .123 batting average.
May 22 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 1-0. He ended the game with a .128 batting average.
May 19 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the New York Mets 5-4. He ended the game with a .132 batting average.
May 18 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 3 Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the New York Mets 3-1. He ended the game with a .133 batting average.
May 16 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-2. He ended the game with a .125 batting average.
May 15 9:48 PM PT10:48 PM MT11:48 PM CT12:48 AM ET0:48 ET4:48 GMT12:48 9:48 PM MST11:48 PM EST10:48 PM CST12:18 AM VEN8:48 UAE11:48 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Monday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2. He ended the game with a .129 batting average.
May 13 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Washington Nationals 6-4. He ended the game with a .130 batting average.
May 12 4:25 PM PT5:25 PM MT6:25 PM CT7:25 PM ET19:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST5:25 PM CST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)6:25 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Washington Nationals 2-1. He ended the game with a .136 batting average.
May 12 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST10:06 PM CST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 3 Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Washington Nationals 3-1. He ended the game with a .138 batting average.
May 11 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Washington Nationals 2-1. He ended the game with a .145 batting average.
May 10 11:01 PM PT12:01 AM MT1:01 AM CT2:01 AM ET2:01 ET6:01 GMT14:01 11:01 PM MST1:01 AM EST12:01 AM CST1:31 AM VEN10:01 UAE1:01 AM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3. He ended the game with a .148 batting average.
May 9 11:48 PM PT12:48 AM MT1:48 AM CT2:48 AM ET2:48 ET6:48 GMT14:48 11:48 PM MST1:48 AM EST12:48 AM CST2:18 AM VEN10:48 UAE1:48 AM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 1 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-5. Avila scored once. He ended the game with a .158 batting average.
May 6 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST5:07 PM CST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Houston Astros 3-1. He ended the game with a .143 batting average.
May 5 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 3 Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Houston Astros 8-0. He ended the game with a .148 batting average.
May 3 4:05 PM PT5:05 PM MT6:05 PM CT7:05 PM ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 PM MST6:05 PM EST5:05 PM CST6:35 PM VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2. He ended the game with a .157 batting average.
May 3 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1. He ended the game with a .160 batting average.
May 2 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3. He ended the game with a .163 batting average.
Apr. 28 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST5:26 PM CST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Washington Nationals 4-3. He ended the game with a .174 batting average.
Apr. 26 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the Philadelphia Phillies 8-2. Avila scored once. He ended the game with a .163 batting average.
Apr. 24 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Alex Avila went 3 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the Philadelphia Phillies 8-4. The homer was his second of the season. Avila scored twice. He ended the game with a .179 batting average.
Apr. 21 9:36 PM PT10:36 PM MT11:36 PM CT12:36 AM ET0:36 ET4:36 GMT12:36 9:36 PM MST11:36 PM EST10:36 PM CST12:06 AM VEN8:36 UAE11:36 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 3 Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the San Diego Padres 4-1. He ended the game with a .114 batting average.
Apr. 19 10:27 PM PT11:27 PM MT12:27 AM CT1:27 AM ET1:27 ET5:27 GMT13:27 10:27 PM MST12:27 AM EST11:27 PM CST12:57 AM VEN9:27 UAE12:27 AM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 5 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the San Francisco Giants 4-3. He ended the game with a .125 batting average.
Apr. 17 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the San Francisco Giants 1-0. He ended the game with a .148 batting average.
Apr. 15 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST10:24 PM CST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-1. The homer was his first of the season. Avila scored twice. He ended the game with a .125 batting average.
Apr. 11 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST11:44 PM CST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the San Francisco Giants 5-4. He ended the game with a .095 batting average.
Apr. 8 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1. He ended the game with a .111 batting average.
Apr. 5 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 5 Thursday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the St. Louis Cardinals 3-1. He ended the game with a .125 batting average.
Apr. 4 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 1 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-1. He ended the game with a .182 batting average.
Apr. 3 12:28 AM PT1:28 AM MT2:28 AM CT3:28 AM ET3:28 ET7:28 GMT15:28 12:28 AM MST2:28 AM EST1:28 AM CST2:58 AM VEN11:28 UAE2:28 AM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 4 Monday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-7. He ended the game with a .100 batting average.
Mar. 31 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-Alex Avila went 0 for 1 Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Colorado Rockies 9-8. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Mar. 30 10:50 PM PT11:50 PM MT12:50 AM CT1:50 AM ET1:50 ET5:50 GMT13:50 10:50 PM MST12:50 AM EST11:50 PM CST1:20 AM VEN9:50 UAE12:50 AM CT-Alex Avila went 1 for 5 with an RBI Thursday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Colorado Rockies 8-2. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Ari 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.50 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.50 0.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Det 29 61 9 17 4 0 5 14 10 18 0 0 .279 .375 .590
2010 Det 104 294 28 67 12 0 7 31 36 71 2 2 .228 .316 .340
2011 Det 141 464 63 137 33 4 19 82 73 131 3 1 .295 .389 .506
2012 Det 116 367 42 89 21 2 9 48 61 104 2 0 .243 .352 .384
2013 Det 102 330 39 75 14 1 11 47 44 112 0 0 .227 .317 .376
2014 Det 124 390 44 85 22 0 11 47 61 151 0 3 .218 .327 .359
2015 Det 67 178 21 34 5 0 4 13 40 66 0 1 .191 .339 .287
2016 CWS 57 169 19 36 6 0 7 11 38 78 0 0 .213 .359 .373
2017 Det 77 219 30 60 11 0 11 32 43 80 0 1 .274 .394 .475
2017 ChC 35 92 11 22 2 1 3 17 19 40 0 0 .239 .369 .380
2017 Tot 112 311 41 82 13 1 14 49 62 120 0 1 .264 .387 .447
2018 Ari 49 114 9 17 2 0 4 10 19 56 0 0 .149 .276 .272
Career 901 2678 315 639 132 8 91 352 444 907 7 8 .239 .348 .396

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Det Total 11 41 1 3 0 0 1 2 2 16 0 0 .073 .116 .146
    LDS 5 16 0 1 0 0 0 1 2 7 0 0 .063 .167 .063
    LCS 6 25 1 2 0 0 1 1 0 9 0 0 .080 .080 .200
2012 Det Total 9 29 2 6 1 0 1 1 1 12 0 0 .207 .233 .345
    LDS 4 12 2 3 1 0 1 1 0 6 0 0 .250 .250 .583
    LCS 3 10 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .200 .200 .200
    WS 2 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .143 .250 .143
2013 Det Total 11 31 3 5 0 0 1 4 8 11 0 0 .161 .350 .258
    LDS 5 15 1 2 0 0 0 1 4 5 0 0 .133 .316 .133
    LCS 6 16 2 3 0 0 1 3 4 6 0 0 .188 .381 .375
2014 Det Total 3 9 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .222 .222 .333
    LDS 3 9 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .222 .222 .333
2017 ChC Total 1 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
    LCS 1 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
Career 35 111 6 17 2 0 3 7 11 43 0 0 .153 .236 .252



@STATS_Insights