MLB

#54
Sergio Romo
ERA S K
5.10 5 36
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 5-11 / 185
Position: RPBorn: 3/4/1983 Birthplace: Brawley, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 28th Round by Giants (2005)


Latest News
June 23 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST4:51 PM CST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Sergio Romo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 4-0 on Saturday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 5.10 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Sergio Romo recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Friday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Sergio Romo recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 2-1 on Tuesday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 5.46 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 18 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Sergio Romo fell to 1-2, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Houston Astros 5-4 on Monday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.60 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 17 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Sergio Romo recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 3-1 on Sunday. Romo struck out two, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
June 12 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Sergio Romo recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Tuesday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 11 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Sergio Romo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Monday. Romo struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Sergio Romo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Sunday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 6 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Sergio Romo did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Washington Nationals 11-2 on Wednesday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
June 2 11:32 PM PT12:32 AM MT1:32 AM CT2:32 AM ET2:32 ET6:32 GMT14:32 11:32 PM MST1:32 AM EST12:32 AM CST2:02 AM VEN10:32 UAE1:32 AM CT-Sergio Romo walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Friday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.96 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
May 30 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-Sergio Romo recorded his first save, allowing two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Tuesday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.33 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 28 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST6:04 PM CST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 1-0 on Monday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-3 on Sunday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.95 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
May 25 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Sergio Romo fell to 1-1, allowing one run on two hits in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 2-0 on Friday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 20 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST5:27 PM CST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Sergio Romo walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-2 on Sunday. Romo struck out three, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 20 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST10:11 PM CST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Sergio Romo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-3 on Saturday. Romo struck out three, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 19 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-The Rays plan to give Romo his first career start Saturday night against the Angels, though it will be a short one.
Analysis: Romo, who has appeared in 588 major league games over the course of 11 seasons, will open the game before Rays manager Kevin Cash turns to rookie left-hander Ryan Yarbrough. The plan is to let Romo face the heart of an Angels' lineup heavy on right-handed batters with power before bringing in Yarbrough later on in the game.
May 15 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Sergio Romo blew his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Tuesday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:44 PM PT7:44 PM MT8:44 PM CT9:44 PM ET21:44 ET1:44 GMT9:44 6:44 PM MST8:44 PM EST7:44 PM CST9:14 PM VEN5:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Sergio Romo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 2-1 on Monday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.17 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Sergio Romo improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-3 on Saturday. Romo struck out two, ending the game with a 5.65 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
May 9 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Sergio Romo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-2 on Wednesday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
May 5 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST7:05 PM CST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed two runs on three hits in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Saturday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
May 4 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-2 on Friday. Romo struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 2 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST2:43 PM CST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Wednesday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Sergio Romo blew his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 2.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Sunday. Romo struck out three, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST6:05 PM CST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 12-6 on Saturday. Romo struck out two, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 2.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed one run on two hits in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-5 on Thursday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 2.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Sergio Romo blew his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-6 on Sunday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 2.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-7 on Friday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Friday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST4:21 PM CST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-4 on Monday. Romo struck out three, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Sergio Romo did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 10-3 on Saturday. Romo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST4:04 PM CST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Sergio Romo walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 3-2 on Thursday. Romo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST5:52 PM CST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Sergio Romo allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 11-4 on Tuesday. Romo struck out two, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST7:34 PM CST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Sergio Romo walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 3-2 on Saturday. Romo struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 SF 3 1 0 - 0 29 0 0 34.0 16 13 8 3 8 1 33 0.71 2.12
2009 SF 5 2 2 - 2 45 0 0 34.0 30 15 15 1 11 0 41 1.21 3.97
2010 SF 5 3 0 - 4 68 0 0 62.0 46 16 15 6 14 2 70 0.97 2.18
2011 SF 3 1 1 - 2 65 0 0 48.0 29 8 8 2 5 1 70 0.71 1.50
2012 SF 4 2 14 - 15 69 0 0 55.1 37 11 11 5 10 1 63 0.85 1.79
2013 SF 5 8 38 - 43 65 0 0 60.1 53 20 17 5 12 3 58 1.08 2.54
2014 SF 6 4 23 - 28 64 0 0 58.0 43 24 24 9 12 2 59 0.95 3.72
2015 SF 0 5 2 - 4 70 0 0 57.1 51 20 19 3 10 2 71 1.06 2.98
2016 SF 1 0 4 - 4 40 0 0 30.2 26 9 9 5 7 1 33 1.08 2.64
2017 LAD 1 1 0 - 0 30 0 0 25.0 23 17 17 7 12 1 31 1.40 6.12
2017 TB 2 0 0 - 1 25 0 0 30.2 19 6 5 2 7 1 28 0.85 1.47
2017 Tot 3 1 0 - 1 55 0 0 55.2 42 23 22 9 19 2 59 1.10 3.56
2018 TB 1 2 5 - 9 34 5 0 30.0 30 17 17 4 13 0 36 1.43 5.10
Career 36 29 89 - 112 604 5 0 525.1 403 176 165 52 121 15 593 1.00 2.83

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 SF 29 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 SF 45 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 SF 68 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 SF 70 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 604 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 SF Total 1 0 0 - 2 6 0 0 3.2 6 3 3 1 1 0 4 7.36
    LDS 1 0 0 - 1 2 0 0 0.2 3 3 3 1 0 0 0 40.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 1 3 0 0 2.1 2 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2012 SF Total 1 0 4 - 4 10 0 0 10.2 4 1 1 0 1 0 9 0.84
    LDS 1 0 1 - 1 3 0 0 4.1 2 1 1 0 1 0 1 2.08
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 3.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    WS 0 0 3 - 3 3 0 0 3.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0.00
2014 SF Total 1 1 0 - 0 9 0 0 7.0 6 1 1 1 0 0 7 1.17
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 1.2 2 1 1 1 0 0 1 5.40
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
2016 SF Total 0 0 0 - 1 2 0 0 2.0 2 3 3 1 1 0 2 13.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 1 2 0 0 2.0 2 3 3 1 1 0 2 13.50
Career 3 1 4 - 7 27 0 0 23.1 18 8 8 3 3 0 22 3.09

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 SF Total 10 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 27 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 171 88 83 85.8 31.38
Slider 319 80 73 76.5 58.53
Changeup 55 82 78 79.7 10.09


@STATS_Insights