MLB

#19
Jay Bruce
AVG HR RBI
.258 12 34
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 227 NFBC ADP: 205.90
Position: RFBorn: 4/3/1987 Birthplace: Beaumont, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Reds (2005)


Latest News
May 29 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET15:09 GMT23:09 8:09 AM MST10:09 AM EST10:39 AM VEN19:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 3 for 5 with two doubles and two RBIs Sunday as the New York Mets beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-2. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce is again killing righties, hitting 11 of his 12 homers while posting a 1.004 OPS. Against lefties, his OPS is .486.
May 28 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the New York Mets fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-4. The homer was his 12th of the season. He ended the game with a .249 batting average.
May 27 10:03 AM PT11:03 AM MT12:03 PM CT1:03 PM ET13:03 ET17:03 GMT1:03 10:03 AM MST12:03 PM EST12:33 PM VEN21:03 UAE12:03 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Friday as the New York Mets topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-1. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 26 7:11 AM PT8:11 AM MT9:11 AM CT10:11 AM ET10:11 ET14:11 GMT22:11 7:11 AM MST9:11 AM EST9:41 AM VEN18:11 UAE9:11 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 Thursday as the New York Mets fell to the San Diego Padres 4-3. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 25 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Bruce is back in the lineup Thursday against the Padres.
Analysis: Bruce was removed in the sixth inning Tuesday with back tightness and sat out Wednesday.
May 23 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the New York Mets topped the San Diego Padres 9-3. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce was removed in the sixth with back tightness and isn't in the starting lineup on Wednesday.
May 21 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 3 with a home run and three RBIs Sunday as the New York Mets fell to the Los Angeles Angels 12-5. The homer was his 11th of the season. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 20 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)10:58 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 3 with an RBI Saturday as the New York Mets beat the Los Angeles Angels 7-5. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
May 19 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Mets beat the Los Angeles Angels 3-0. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce has gone just 1 for 16 in his last four games and is 0 for 16 in his last four against AL clubs.
May 17 5:18 PM PT6:18 PM MT7:18 PM CT8:18 PM ET20:18 ET0:18 GMT8:18 5:18 PM MST7:18 PM EST7:48 PM VEN4:18 UAE (+1)7:18 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 Wednesday as the New York Mets fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
May 17 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Mets fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce is in a 1-for-15 slump and has gone deep only once in his last 11 games.
May 16 10:43 PM PT11:43 PM MT12:43 AM CT1:43 AM ET1:43 ET5:43 GMT13:43 10:43 PM MST12:43 AM EST1:13 AM VEN9:43 UAE12:43 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 3 Monday as the New York Mets lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce appears to be going through one of his usual slumps, as he's 5 for 28 (.179) with one RBI and nine strikeouts over a seven-game stretch. Don't count on him breaking out of it Tuesday, as he sports a .189 career average (7 for 37) against Arizona starter Zack Greinke.
May 13 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 Saturday as the New York Mets fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-4. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
May 13 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 3 Friday as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
May 10 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the New York Mets fell to the San Francisco Giants 6-5. The homer was his 10th of the season. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce already has two more homers this year - in 32 games - than he did in 50 games last season after joining the Mets. Eleven of his 15 hits over the past 13 games have gone for extra bases.
May 10 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE12:34 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the New York Mets topped the San Francisco Giants 6-1. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce, tied for ninth in the majors with 18 extra-base hits, is 8 for 19 with two doubles lifetime against Matt Cain, San Francisco's scheduled starter for Wednesday's series finale.
May 8 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 Monday as the New York Mets beat the San Francisco Giants 4-3. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
May 7 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Sunday as the New York Mets lost to the Miami Marlins 7-0. He ended the game with a .281 batting average.
May 7 9:09 AM PT10:09 AM MT11:09 AM CT12:09 PM ET12:09 ET16:09 GMT0:09 9:09 AM MST11:09 AM EST11:39 AM VEN20:09 UAE11:09 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 5 with two doubles and three RBIs Saturday as the New York Mets beat the Miami Marlins 11-3. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
May 6 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 2 Friday as the New York Mets beat the Miami Marlins 8-7. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 4 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE12:02 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Mets beat the Atlanta Braves 16-5. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce has hit safely in eight of his last nine games, going 12 for 37 (.324) with three homers and eight RBIs.
May 2 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 5 with two home runs and six RBIs Tuesday as the New York Mets fell to the Atlanta Braves 9-7. The homers were his eighth and ninth of the season. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce is 6 for 14 with three homers and eight RBIs in his last three games and is batting .360 in seven games against the Braves this season. He faces Bartolo Colon on Wednesday, and is 2 for 7 while both of his hits have gone for homers against the veteran right-hander.
May 2 8:11 AM PT9:11 AM MT10:11 AM CT11:11 AM ET11:11 ET15:11 GMT23:11 8:11 AM MST10:11 AM EST10:41 AM VEN19:11 UAE10:11 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 with a double Monday as the New York Mets topped the Atlanta Braves 7-5. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .287 batting average.
Analysis: Though he's produced just one home run and two RBIs in his past 10 games, Bruce does have four doubles over his last five and is 8 for 24 over a six-game stretch.
Apr. 30 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 3 for 4 with a double, a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the New York Mets fell to the Washington Nationals 23-5. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .292 batting average.
Analysis: The Mets open a four-game series at Atlanta on Monday, and Bruce is 4 for 22 with two homers against Julio Teheran, the scheduled starter for the opener.
Apr. 29 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Saturday as the New York Mets beat the Washington Nationals 5-3. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
Apr. 29 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE12:00 AM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 with a double Friday as the New York Mets topped the Washington Nationals 7-5. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
Apr. 27 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 with a double Thursday as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-5. He ended the game with a .289 batting average.
Apr. 27 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Bruce reached base in all four of his plate appearances Wednesday with two singles and two walks.
Analysis: Bruce is second on the Mets with a .386 OBP and leads the team with 14 RBIs but has none in the past five games.
Apr. 19 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Bruce had his second two-homer game of the season Wednesday in a win over the Phillies.
Analysis: Bruce is 14 for 43 (.326) with five homers and 12 RBIs in his last 10 games. He ranks among the major league leaders with six home runs and 14 RBIs this season.
Apr. 11 8:08 AM PT9:08 AM MT10:08 AM CT11:08 AM ET11:08 ET15:08 GMT23:08 8:08 AM MST10:08 AM EST10:38 AM VEN19:08 UAE10:08 AM CT-Bruce hit two homers, including a go-ahead, two-run shot in the eighth inning to send the Mets to a 4-3 win over the Phillies on Monday night.
Analysis: The cleanup spot certainly seems to be suiting Bruce well. He's homered three times in two games since being moved to No. 4 in the order, driving in four runs and scoring five.
Apr. 10 9:52 AM PT10:52 AM MT11:52 AM CT12:52 PM ET12:52 ET16:52 GMT0:52 9:52 AM MST11:52 AM EST12:22 PM VEN20:52 UAE11:52 AM CT-Bruce hit his second home run of the season Sunday.
Analysis: He is 5 for 20 through the first six games.
Apr. 6 7:20 AM PT8:20 AM MT9:20 AM CT10:20 AM ET10:20 ET14:20 GMT22:20 7:20 AM MST9:20 AM EST9:50 AM VEN18:20 UAE9:20 AM CT-Bruce homered for one of his three hits in Wednesday's 12-inning loss to the Braves.
Analysis: Bruce finally got some extensive hitting opportunities after walking three times in the opener.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Cin 108 413 63 105 17 1 21 52 33 110 4 6 .254 .314 .453
2009 Cin 101 345 47 77 15 2 22 58 38 75 3 3 .223 .303 .470
2010 Cin 148 509 80 143 23 5 25 70 58 136 5 4 .281 .353 .493
2011 Cin 157 585 84 150 27 2 32 97 71 158 8 7 .256 .341 .474
2012 Cin 155 560 89 141 35 5 34 99 62 155 9 3 .252 .327 .514
2013 Cin 160 626 89 164 43 1 30 109 63 185 7 3 .262 .329 .478
2014 Cin 137 493 71 107 21 1 18 66 44 149 12 3 .217 .281 .373
2015 Cin 157 580 72 131 35 4 26 87 58 145 9 5 .226 .294 .434
2016 Cin 97 370 60 98 22 6 25 80 27 83 4 2 .265 .316 .559
2016 NYM 50 169 14 37 5 0 8 19 17 43 0 0 .219 .294 .391
2016 Tot 147 539 74 135 27 6 33 99 44 126 4 2 .250 .309 .506
2017 NYM 46 181 28 46 12 0 12 34 21 40 0 1 .254 .332 .519
Career 1316 4831 697 1199 255 27 253 771 492 1279 61 37 .248 .319 .469

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Cin Total 3 8 1 2 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 0 .250 .400 .625
    LDS 3 8 1 2 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 0 .250 .400 .625
2012 Cin Total 5 19 2 5 2 0 1 4 2 2 0 1 .263 .364 .526
    LDS 5 19 2 5 2 0 1 4 2 2 0 1 .263 .364 .526
2013 Cin Total 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    WC 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2016 NYM Total 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 10 34 3 8 2 0 2 6 4 5 0 1 .235 .333 .471



@STATS_Insights