MLB

#54
Ervin Santana
ERA W-L K
3.54 6-10 113
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-2 / 175 NFBC ADP: 294.52
Position: SPBorn: 12/12/1982 Birthplace: San Cristobal, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Angels (2000)


Latest News
Aug. 22 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Santana was solid again Sunday but suffered his 10th defeat despite yielding two runs and five hits in seven innings, walking one and striking out a season-high 10 in a 2-1 loss to Kansas City.
Analysis: The veteran right-hander had won his previous three starts. He has a 1.91 ERA in his last 11 starts after posting a 5.10 through his first 12.
Aug. 17 9:26 AM PT10:26 AM MT11:26 AM CT12:26 PM ET12:26 ET16:26 GMT0:26 9:26 AM MST11:26 AM EST11:56 AM VEN20:26 UAE11:26 AM CT-Santana allowed four hits over seven scoreless innings in Tuesday's 4-2 win over the Braves. He struck out six and walked two.
Analysis: Santana has been on a nice little roll, going 3-1 with a 1.53 ERA in his last five games. He has 26 strikeouts to just five walks over 35 1/3 innings in that span. His next turn in the rotation comes Sunday in Kansas City to face a Royals team that knocked him around in their last matchup. The veteran right-hander permitted six runs and nine hits in 3 2/3 innings against his former team in a 7-4 loss May 24.
Aug. 5 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Santana continued to pitch well Friday, allowing two runs and striking out eight over 6 1/3 innings to beat the Rays for his second straight win.
Analysis: After owning a 5.10 ERA on June 14, the right-hander has gone 4-2 with a 2.05 ERA and two complete games in nine outings.
July 31 5:18 PM PT6:18 PM MT7:18 PM CT8:18 PM ET20:18 ET0:18 GMT8:18 5:18 PM MST7:18 PM EST7:48 PM VEN4:18 UAE (+1)7:18 PM CT-Santana, who has been the subject of trade rumors, likely upped his value by allowing one earned run over six innings in a 6-4 win over the White Sox on Sunday.
Analysis: After struggling earlier in the season, Santana has gone 3-2 with a 1.96 ERA in his last eight starts.
July 27 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Santana tossed a complete-game seven-hitter Tuesday, albeit in a 2-0 loss to Atlanta.
Analysis: Having posted a 1.94 ERA while holding opposing hitters to a .199 average over his last six starts, Santana could be a valued commodity at the trade deadline should the Twins make him available. He went 5-1 with a sparkling 1.62 ERA over his final seven starts of last season.
July 20 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Santana allowed one run in seven-plus innings while not factoring in the decision of a 4-1 win over Detroit.
Analysis: Santana is 2-1 with a 2.03 ERA in his last six starts.
July 7 7:35 AM PT8:35 AM MT9:35 AM CT10:35 AM ET10:35 ET14:35 GMT22:35 7:35 AM MST9:35 AM EST10:05 AM VEN18:35 UAE9:35 AM CT-Santana was brilliant in a complete-game effort on Wednesday, allowing just two hits while striking out eight in a 4-0 win over the A's.
Analysis: Santana has gone 2-0 with a 1.63 ERA over his last four starts.
June 19 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Santana bounced back from a dismal stretch with a strong showing Sunday in a 7-4 win over the Yankees. He allowed three runs - two earned - and six hits over 7 1/3 innings.
Analysis: Santana entered Sunday 0-5 with a 7.71 ERA in his previous five starts. He didn't issue a walk for the third straight start, spanning 18 2/3 innings.
June 10 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Santana allowed five runs and nine hits over 6 1/3 innings in Thursday's 10-3 loss to Miami.
Analysis: Santana pitched pretty well early on this season, but like many of the Twins' other hurlers, he's fallen on difficult times. He's 0-4 with a 7.43 ERA over his last four starts.
May 20 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Santana got a no-decision Thursday.
Analysis: Santana allowed two runs in eight innings.
May 15 11:05 AM PT12:05 PM MT1:05 PM CT2:05 PM ET14:05 ET18:05 GMT2:05 11:05 AM MST1:05 PM EST1:35 PM VEN22:05 UAE1:05 PM CT-Santana earned his first victory in 2016 on Saturday, a 6-3 win in Cleveland.
Analysis: Santana (1-2, 3.38 ERA) yielded one run in six innings and got four runs of support. He received a combined seven runs of backing in his first five starts.
Apr. 26 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-The Twins activated Santana from the 15-day disabled list Friday.
Analysis: Santana will make his first start since April 19 Saturday against the White Sox. The Twins' opening day starter had been sidelined by a lower back strain.
Apr. 9 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Santana tossed six solid innings on Friday.
Analysis: He took a no-decision after allowing two runs on six hits while walking two and striking out seven.
Apr. 7 10:48 PM PT11:48 PM MT12:48 AM CT1:48 AM ET1:48 ET5:48 GMT13:48 10:48 PM MST12:48 AM EST1:18 AM VEN9:48 UAE12:48 AM CT-Santana has been moved up to Friday from Sunday after his start on opening day was cut short by rain.
Analysis: He allowed two hits and two walks in two innings Monday.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 LAA 12 8 0 - 0 23 23 1 133.2 139 73 69 17 47 2 99 1.39 4.65
2006 LAA 16 8 0 - 0 33 33 0 204.0 181 106 97 21 70 2 141 1.23 4.28
2007 LAA 7 14 0 - 0 28 26 0 150.0 174 103 96 26 58 3 126 1.55 5.76
2008 LAA 16 7 0 - 0 32 32 2 219.0 198 89 85 23 47 2 214 1.12 3.49
2009 LAA 8 8 0 - 0 24 23 2 139.2 159 83 78 24 47 4 107 1.47 5.03
2010 LAA 17 10 0 - 0 33 33 4 222.2 221 104 97 27 73 2 169 1.32 3.92
2011 LAA 11 12 0 - 0 33 33 4 228.2 207 95 86 26 72 4 178 1.22 3.38
2012 LAA 9 13 0 - 0 30 30 1 178.0 165 109 102 39 61 2 133 1.27 5.16
2013 KC 9 10 0 - 0 32 32 0 211.0 190 85 76 26 51 3 161 1.14 3.24
2014 Atl 14 10 0 - 0 31 31 0 196.0 193 90 86 16 63 4 179 1.31 3.95
2015 Min 7 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 108.0 104 50 48 12 36 2 82 1.30 4.00
2016 Min 6 10 0 - 0 24 24 2 147.1 138 66 58 15 39 1 113 1.20 3.54
Career 132 115 0 - 0 340 337 16 2138.0 2069 1053 978 272 664 31 1702 1.28 4.12

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 LAA 33 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2007 LAA 28 5 1 1 1 0 0 2 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .400
2008 LAA 32 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 LAA 33 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2012 LAA 30 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 KC 32 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2014 Atl 31 63 7 7 1 0 0 1 2 28 0 0 .111 .138 .127
2016 Min 24 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 340 91 8 11 2 0 0 3 2 45 0 0 .121 .140 .143

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2005 LAA Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 8 9 8 3 5 0 4 7.45
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 5.1 5 3 3 1 2 0 2 5.06
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 3 6 5 2 3 0 2 10.38
2007 LAA Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
2008 LAA Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 8 5 5 1 0 0 3 8.44
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 8 5 5 1 0 0 3 8.44
2009 LAA Total 1 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 5.2 5 3 1 0 4 1 5 1.59
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 5.2 5 3 1 0 4 1 5 1.59
Career 2 2 0 - 0 8 2 0 22.2 21 17 14 4 9 1 14 5.56


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1203 96 88 92.6 51.17
Slider 874 88 75 83.2 37.18
Changeup 274 89 81 84.8 11.65


@STATS_MLB