MLB

#38
Francisco Liriano
ERA W-L K
4.58 5-12 110
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 218
Position: SPBorn: 10/26/1983 Birthplace: San Cristobal, DR
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Giants (2000)


Latest News
Sep. 27 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 5-12, allowing four runs on three hits and two walks in 2.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 9-3 on Thursday. Liriano struck out five, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 5-11, allowing four runs - one earned - on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Friday. Liriano struck out four, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST1:48 PM CST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Francisco Liriano improved to 5-10, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-4 on Sunday. Liriano struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST6:54 PM CST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 4-10, allowing three runs - zero earned - on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 3-2 on Monday. Liriano struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.65 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST9:40 PM CST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Francisco Liriano improved to 4-9, allowing three runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-3 on Tuesday. Liriano struck out five, ending the game with a 4.90 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed five runs - four earned - on seven hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 8-7 on Thursday. Liriano struck out two, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 3-9, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-2 on Wednesday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST9:48 PM CST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 3-8, allowing eight runs - four earned - on five hits and three walks in 1.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 15-8 on Thursday. Liriano struck out one, ending the game with a 4.72 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 3-7, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Saturday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST4:51 PM CST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 3-6, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-0 on Sunday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 29 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-1 on Sunday. Liriano struck out one, ending the game with a 4.62 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Liriano missed a scheduled start Saturday because of an allergic reaction that was giving him rashes on his back, came on in relief of Jordan Zimmermann.
July 23 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed three runs on six hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-4 on Monday. Liriano struck out six, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 15 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST2:43 PM CST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed one run on one hit and three walks in 3.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Houston Astros 6-3 on Sunday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed seven runs on eight hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-9 on Monday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 4 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST3:30 PM CST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 3-5, allowing three runs on five hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-2 on Wednesday. Liriano struck out five, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 29 6:44 PM PT7:44 PM MT8:44 PM CT9:44 PM ET21:44 ET1:44 GMT9:44 6:44 PM MST8:44 PM EST7:44 PM CST9:14 PM VEN5:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 3-4, allowing three runs on seven hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Friday. Liriano struck out four, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 23 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST7:06 PM CST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 3-3, allowing three runs - two earned - on four hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Saturday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 30 7:46 AM PT8:46 AM MT9:46 AM CT10:46 AM ET10:46 ET14:46 GMT22:46 7:46 AM MST9:46 AM EST8:46 AM CST10:16 AM VEN18:46 UAE9:46 AM CT-Liriano (strained right hamstring) has come off the DL and will start Saturday in Cleveland.
Analysis: Liriano had a sub-3 ERA and 1.07 WHIP through his first six starts and tossed eight inning of one-hit ball in Seattle on May 20, but that start was sandwiched around a pair of five-run outings. The veteran lefty should really only be considered in deeper leagues with a favorable matchup.
May 26 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST5:28 PM CST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)6:28 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 3-2, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 8-4 on Saturday. Liriano struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.90 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 20 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST5:37 PM CST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 8.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Sunday. Liriano struck out five, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed five runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 9-8 on Tuesday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 9 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed three runs on four hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 5-4 on Wednesday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 4 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-2 on Friday. Liriano struck out five, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Francisco Liriano improved to 3-1, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-5 on Saturday. Liriano struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Francisco Liriano allowed three runs on two hits and four walks in 5.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 8-5 on Sunday. Liriano struck out six, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST7:28 PM CST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Francisco Liriano improved to 2-1, allowing two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-2 on Tuesday. Liriano struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 5:52 PM PT6:52 PM MT7:52 PM CT8:52 PM ET20:52 ET0:52 GMT8:52 5:52 PM MST7:52 PM EST6:52 PM CST8:22 PM VEN4:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Francisco Liriano fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on three hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-0 on Monday. Liriano struck out four, ending the game with a 2.13 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST2:03 PM CST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Francisco Liriano improved to 1-0, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-1 on Monday. Liriano struck out three, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 6 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST4:32 PM CST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Liriano threw two scoreless innings against the New York Yankees in his first start with a new team. Liriano allowed one hit, walked two and struck out three in the Tigers' 7-2 loss Tuesday. He worked out of a two-on, one-out jam in the first by striking out Giancarlo Stanton and Gary Sanchez. He induced a double-play grounder from Miguel Andujar to end the second.
Analysis: The Tigers agreed to a $4 million, one-year contract with Liriano on Feb. 23, giving the Tigers added pitching depth. The 34-year-old was 6-7 with a 4.62 ERA in 18 starts last season with Toronto and 20 relief appearances with World Series champion Houston, which acquired him at the July 31 trade deadline. He is 102-99 in a 12-year big league career. ''I'm just happy to be healthy and go out there and pitch and have fun,'' Liriano said.


@STATS_Insights