MLB

#50
Justin Shafer
ERA S K
3.79 1 34
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195
Position: RPBorn: 9/18/1992 Birthplace: Lake Wales, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 8th Round by Blue Jays (2014)


Latest News
Sep. 14 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST5:01 PM CST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed four runs on four hits in 1.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 13-3 on Saturday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Thursday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Justin Shafer improved to 2-1, allowing no hits over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Tuesday. Shafer struck out three, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-0 on Friday. Shafer struck out two, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 11:05 PM PT12:05 AM MT1:05 AM CT2:05 AM ET2:05 ET6:05 GMT14:05 11:05 PM MST1:05 AM EST12:05 AM CST1:35 AM VEN10:05 UAE1:05 AM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-4 on Friday. Shafer struck out two, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 10:35 PM PT11:35 PM MT12:35 AM CT1:35 AM ET1:35 ET5:35 GMT13:35 10:35 PM MST12:35 AM EST11:35 PM CST1:05 AM VEN9:35 UAE12:35 AM CT-Justin Shafer allowed four runs on three hits and three walks in 1.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 16-3 on Tuesday. Shafer struck out two, ending the game with a 3.30 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST1:37 PM CST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE2:37 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-0 on Sunday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 2.20 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one run on two hits in 1.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-3 on Friday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Justin Shafer walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 7-3 on Wednesday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.05 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one run on three hits in 1.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 19-4 on Monday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Justin Shafer did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 8-2 on Friday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 1.90 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 1:29 PM PT2:29 PM MT3:29 PM CT4:29 PM ET16:29 ET20:29 GMT4:29 1:29 PM MST3:29 PM EST2:29 PM CST3:59 PM VEN0:29 UAE (+1)3:29 PM CT-Justin Shafer did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Wednesday. Shafer struck out two, ending the game with a 1.99 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-0 on Monday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.11 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Saturday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
July 31 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST1:49 PM CST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Justin Shafer recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-1 on Wednesday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
July 29 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Justin Shafer walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Monday. Shafer struck out two, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
July 28 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST3:21 PM CST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-9 on Sunday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Friday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
July 22 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed two runs on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-3 on Monday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
July 20 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-5 on Saturday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 1.76 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 18 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-0 on Thursday. Shafer struck out three, ending the game with a 1.88 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
July 16 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Justin Shafer improved to 1-1, allowing one hit and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 10-4 on Tuesday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 2.13 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
July 14 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Justin Shafer did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 4-2 on Sunday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
July 12 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 4-0 on Friday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
June 19 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 11-6 on Wednesday. Shafer struck out two, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
June 16 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Justin Shafer walked three and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Houston Astros 12-0 on Sunday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 2.29 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 12-3 on Thursday. Shafer struck out four, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 2.29 WHIP on the season.
June 2 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST4:00 PM CST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-1 on Sunday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
May 29 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Justin Shafer fell to 0-1, allowing one run on three hits and four walks in 1.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Wednesday. Shafer struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 3.38 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Justin Shafer allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Tuesday. Shafer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Tor 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 8.1 6 4 3 1 7 0 2 1.56 3.24
2019 Tor 2 1 1 - 1 30 0 0 35.2 38 17 15 5 22 4 34 1.68 3.79
Career 2 1 1 - 1 36 0 0 44.0 44 21 18 6 29 4 36 1.66 3.68



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 345 97 92 94.3 52.91
Slider 169 89 82 85.5 25.92
Changeup 15 89 86 87.7 2.3
Cut Fastball 123 92 87 90.3 18.87


@STATS_Insights