MLB

#43
Aaron Civale
ERA W-L K
5.19 3-6 84
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-2 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 6/12/1995 Birthplace: East Windsor, Connecticut
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Indians (2016)


Latest News
Sep. 25 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST3:37 PM CST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Aaron Civale improved to 3-6, allowing two runs on three hits in 5.0 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Texas Rangers 10-4 on Sunday. Civale struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE10:55 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-7 on Tuesday. Civale struck out two, ending the game with a 5.29 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)2:48 PM CT-Civale (right forearm inflammation) will rejoin the Indians' rotation on Tuesday against the White Sox.
Analysis: Civale has had trouble staying healthy all season, as he previously had stints on the injured list due to a strained glute and sprained right wrist. He is 2-6 with a 5.40 ERA in 16 starts after going 12-5 with a 3.84 ERA in 21 outings last year.
Aug. 28 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST4:50 PM CST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Aaron Civale fell to 2-6, allowing four runs on four hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-0 on Sunday. Civale struck out five, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the San Diego Padres 3-1 on Tuesday. Civale struck out four, ending the game with a 5.37 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST4:08 PM CST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-1 on Monday. Civale struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed two runs on three hits in 4.0 innings as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Wednesday. Civale struck out four, ending the game with a 6.05 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 14 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Civale (right wrist sprain) will return to Cleveland's rotation Wednesday at Detroit.
Analysis: Civale was forced to exit July 13 against the White Sox after one inning. The right-hander missed time earlier this season with a strained glute muscle and owns a disappointing 6.17 ERA in 12 starts after going 12-5 with a 3.84 ERA last year.
July 13 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Cleveland Guardians lost to the Chicago White Sox 2-1 on Wednesday. Civale struck out one, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed one run on six hits in 7.0 innings as the Cleveland Guardians lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Friday. Civale struck out six, ending the game with a 6.28 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 2 6:23 PM PT7:23 PM MT8:23 PM CT9:23 PM ET21:23 ET1:23 GMT9:23 6:23 PM MST8:23 PM EST7:23 PM CST8:53 PM VEN5:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-Aaron Civale fell to 2-5, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians lost to the New York Yankees 6-1 on Saturday. Civale struck out six, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
June 26 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Aaron Civale fell to 2-4, allowing three runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-3 on Sunday. Civale struck out two, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
June 21 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST9:33 PM CST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Tuesday. Civale struck out seven, ending the game with a 7.25 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 26 6:58 AM PT7:58 AM MT8:58 AM CT9:58 AM ET9:58 ET13:58 GMT21:58 6:58 AM MST8:58 AM EST7:58 AM CST9:28 AM VEN17:58 UAE7:58 AM CT-Civale (left glute) has come off the injured list to start Tuesday at Minnesota.
Analysis: Civale underwent a procedure to aspirate blood from the affected area after being hurt May 20 when he fell twice while mishandling a grounder. He has struggled to a 7.84 ERA this season after winning a career-high 12 games and posting a 3.84 ERA in 21 starts in 2021.
May 20 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Aaron Civale improved to 2-3, allowing one run - zero earned - on three hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Detroit Tigers 6-1 on Friday. Civale struck out three, ending the game with a 7.84 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
May 13 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Aaron Civale fell to 1-3, allowing six runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians lost to the Minnesota Twins 12-8 on Friday. Civale struck out five, ending the game with a 9.85 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
May 5 6:21 PM PT7:21 PM MT8:21 PM CT9:21 PM ET21:21 ET1:21 GMT9:21 6:21 PM MST8:21 PM EST7:21 PM CST8:51 PM VEN5:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-Aaron Civale improved to 1-2, allowing four runs on six hits in 5.2 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Thursday. Civale struck out eight, ending the game with a 9.45 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed six runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Oakland Athletics 9-8 on Friday. Civale struck out three, ending the game with a 10.67 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST2:26 PM CST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)2:26 PM CT-Aaron Civale fell to 0-2, allowing six runs on seven hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians lost to the New York Yankees 10-2 on Sunday. Civale struck out three, ending the game with a 9.58 ERA and 1.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST2:41 PM CST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)2:41 PM CT-Aaron Civale fell to 0-1, allowing four runs - three earned - on four hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Cleveland Guardians lost to the San Francisco Giants 8-1 on Sunday. Civale struck out five, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST3:53 PM CST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Aaron Civale allowed four runs - two earned - on four hits and three walks in 3.1 innings as the Cleveland Guardians defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-7 on Monday. Civale struck out three, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2019 Cle 3 4 0 - 0 10 10 0 57.2 44 18 15 4 16 0 46 1.04 2.34
2020 Cle 4 6 0 - 0 12 12 1 74.0 82 39 39 11 16 0 69 1.32 4.74
2021 Cle 12 5 0 - 0 21 21 0 124.1 108 56 53 23 31 0 99 1.12 3.84
2022 Cle 3 6 0 - 0 18 18 0 85.0 85 53 49 10 21 1 84 1.25 5.19
Career 22 21 0 - 0 61 61 1 341.0 319 166 156 48 84 1 298 1.18 4.12

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Cle 10 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Cle 21 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000
Career 61 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .250 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 449 94 76 90.7 31.44
Curveball 388 79 72 75.9 27.17
Slider 53 85 76 80.7 3.71
Changeup 10 87 85 86.2 .7
Split-Finger 45 88 83 85.4 3.15
Cut Fastball 483 90 82 86.4 33.82


@STATS_Insights