MLB

#30
Paolo Espino
ERA W-L K
4.27 5-5 92
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 5-10 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 1/10/1987 Birthplace: Panama City, Panama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 10th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 29 6:18 PM PT7:18 PM MT8:18 PM CT9:18 PM ET21:18 ET1:18 GMT9:18 6:18 PM MST8:18 PM EST7:18 PM CST8:48 PM VEN5:18 UAE (+1)7:18 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed four runs on four hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Colorado Rockies 10-5 on Wednesday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST9:43 PM CST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-7 on Friday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 4.01 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)2:12 PM CT-Paolo Espino improved to 5-5, allowing three hits and three walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 3-0 on Sunday. Espino struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)7:48 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 4-5, allowing one run on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 3-0 on Monday. Espino struck out six, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed five runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-5 on Tuesday. Espino struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-6 on Thursday. Espino struck out five, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Paolo Espino improved to 4-4, allowing one run on three hits in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 2-1 on Friday. Espino struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 5:31 PM PT6:31 PM MT7:31 PM CT8:31 PM ET20:31 ET0:31 GMT8:31 5:31 PM MST7:31 PM EST6:31 PM CST8:01 PM VEN4:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-6 on Saturday. Espino struck out six, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST2:30 PM CST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)2:30 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 3-4, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Sunday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 4.16 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 3-3, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 9-5 on Wednesday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 30 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Paolo Espino improved to 3-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Friday. Espino struck out six, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 25 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)2:28 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Sunday. Espino struck out six, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
July 20 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed four hits without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 6-3 on Tuesday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 17 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST10:28 PM CST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE10:28 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Diego Padres 24-8 on Friday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 10 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Friday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
July 4 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE10:29 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs on three hits and three walks in 4.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Saturday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Paolo Espino improved to 2-2, allowing five hits over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 8-4 on Monday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 2.02 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
June 25 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed two runs - one earned - on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 11-2 on Friday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
June 23 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST3:35 PM CST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Paolo Espino recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 13-12 on Wednesday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.20 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
June 16 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Paolo Espino improved to 1-2, allowing three hits over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1 on Wednesday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
June 11 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST7:40 PM CST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-2, allowing one run on three hits in 3.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Francisco Giants 1-0 on Friday. Espino struck out five, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Tuesday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
June 6 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST3:37 PM CST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 12-6 on Sunday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
June 3 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST1:11 PM CST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE1:11 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-1 on Thursday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 11-6 on Tuesday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 29 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-2 on Saturday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-3 on Monday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
May 15 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 17-2 on Friday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.62 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-2 on Tuesday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 0.55 WHIP on the season.
May 5 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Wednesday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.64 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-1 on Tuesday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 9-5 on Tuesday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 7-1 on Saturday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-2 on Sunday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Mil 0 0 0 - 0 6 2 0 17.2 17 13 12 5 8 0 13 1.42 6.11
2017 Tex 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 6.1 6 4 4 2 2 0 7 1.26 5.68
2017 Tot 0 0 0 - 0 12 2 0 24.0 23 17 16 7 10 0 20 1.38 6.00
2020 Was 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.0 8 3 3 1 2 0 7 1.67 4.50
2021 Was 5 5 1 - 1 35 19 0 109.2 108 53 52 19 25 2 92 1.21 4.27
Career 5 5 1 - 1 49 22 0 139.2 139 73 71 27 37 2 119 1.26 4.58

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Mil 6 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2017 Tot 12 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2021 Was 35 30 2 5 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .167 .167 .167
Career 49 34 2 6 0 0 0 0 0 16 0 0 .176 .176 .176


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 955 92 86 89 55.04
Curveball 420 74 68 71.2 24.21
Slider 285 81 74 77.6 16.43
Changeup 75 86 79 83.8 4.32


@STATS_Insights