MLB

#33
John Gant
ERA S K
3.76 0 88
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-4 / 200
Position: RPBorn: 8/6/1992 Birthplace: Savannah, Georgia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 21st Round by Mets (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 13 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-John Gant walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the New York Yankees 6-5 on Monday. Gant did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-John Gant improved to 5-9, allowing three hits and four walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 3-0 on Tuesday. Gant struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-John Gant fell to 4-9, allowing two runs on three hits in 5.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-1 on Tuesday. Gant struck out five, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-John Gant fell to 4-8, allowing four runs on three hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Boston Red Sox 12-2 on Thursday. Gant struck out three, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-John Gant fell to 4-7, allowing four runs on three hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the New York Yankees 7-5 on Thursday. Gant struck out four, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST10:02 PM CST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE10:02 PM CT-John Gant did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Monday. Gant struck out two, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST9:33 PM CST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-John Gant allowed five runs - three earned - on four hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-4 on Friday. Gant struck out three, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-John Gant did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Tuesday. Gant struck out one, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-John Gant allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Houston Astros 4-0 on Saturday. Gant struck out two, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST10:10 PM CST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE10:10 PM CT-John Gant did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Houston Astros 5-4 on Friday. Gant struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-John Gant allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-5 on Tuesday. Gant struck out two, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST3:29 PM CST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)3:29 PM CT-John Gant allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 7-3 on Sunday. Gant struck out one, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-John Gant walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-2 on Wednesday. Gant did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 24 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-John Gant walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Saturday. Gant struck out two, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 22 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE10:44 PM CT-John Gant allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Wednesday. Gant did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.51 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 19 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST9:57 PM CST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-John Gant allowed one run on two hits in 2.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-3 on Monday. Gant did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 10 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-John Gant walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-0 on Saturday. Gant struck out one, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
July 8 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST10:58 PM CST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE10:58 PM CT-John Gant walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-2 on Wednesday. Gant struck out one, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 7 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-John Gant allowed one run on zero hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-5 on Tuesday. Gant did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 4 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST11:02 PM CST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-John Gant did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Saturday. Gant did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 3 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST10:05 PM CST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE10:05 PM CT-John Gant allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Colorado Rockies 9-3 on Friday. Gant struck out two, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 30 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)2:40 PM CT-John Gant allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-4 on Wednesday. Gant did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST10:16 PM CST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE10:16 PM CT-John Gant allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-1 on Monday. Gant did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
June 23 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST2:30 PM CST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)2:30 PM CT-John Gant fell to 4-6, allowing three runs on two hits and four walks in 3.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-2 on Wednesday. Gant struck out four, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 17 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-John Gant fell to 4-5, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-0 on Thursday. Gant struck out four, ending the game with a 3.50 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
June 12 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-John Gant fell to 4-4, allowing five runs on one hit and five walks in 1.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-2 on Saturday. Gant struck out one, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
June 6 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST4:13 PM CST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-John Gant allowed seven runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-7 on Sunday. Gant struck out two, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
June 2 10:48 PM PT11:48 PM MT12:48 AM CT1:48 AM ET1:48 ET5:48 GMT13:48 10:48 PM MST12:48 AM EST11:48 PM CST1:18 AM VEN9:48 UAE11:48 PM CT-John Gant allowed four hits and three walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Tuesday. Gant struck out four, ending the game with a 1.60 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-John Gant improved to 4-3, allowing five hits and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-0 on Wednesday. Gant struck out three, ending the game with a 1.81 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-John Gant improved to 3-3, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2 on Tuesday. Gant struck out three, ending the game with a 2.04 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-John Gant allowed one run - zero earned - on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Wednesday. Gant struck out four, ending the game with a 1.83 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
May 6 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST3:11 PM CST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-John Gant fell to 2-3, allowing two runs - one earned - on five hits and six walks in 4.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the New York Mets 4-1 on Thursday. Gant struck out five, ending the game with a 2.15 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-John Gant improved to 2-2, allowing one run on three hits and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-3 on Friday. Gant struck out two, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST5:12 PM CST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-John Gant improved to 1-2, allowing three hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 2-0 on Saturday. Gant struck out five, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST1:46 PM CST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE1:46 PM CT-John Gant fell to 0-2, allowing two runs on five hits and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-0 on Sunday. Gant struck out five, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST9:11 PM CST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-John Gant fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Washington Nationals 5-2 on Monday. Gant struck out four, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-John Gant allowed one run - zero earned - on four hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 4-2 on Tuesday. Gant struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Atl 1 4 0 - 0 20 7 0 50.0 54 32 27 7 21 3 49 1.50 4.86
2017 StL 0 1 0 - 0 7 2 0 17.1 17 9 9 4 10 1 11 1.56 4.67
2018 StL 7 6 0 - 0 26 19 0 114.0 91 54 44 9 57 3 95 1.30 3.47
2019 StL 11 1 3 - 6 64 0 0 66.1 51 29 27 4 34 1 60 1.28 3.66
2020 StL 0 3 0 - 0 17 0 0 15.0 9 6 4 0 7 0 18 1.07 2.40
2021 StL 4 6 0 - 0 25 14 0 76.1 64 32 29 6 56 2 56 1.57 3.42
2021 Min 1 3 0 - 0 12 5 0 26.2 20 16 14 3 11 0 32 1.16 4.73
2021 Tot 5 9 0 - 0 37 19 0 103.0 84 48 43 9 67 2 88 1.47 3.76
Career 24 24 3 - 6 171 47 0 365.2 306 178 154 33 196 10 321 1.37 3.79

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Atl 20 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 StL 7 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 StL 28 31 2 2 0 0 2 3 0 14 0 0 .065 .065 .258
2019 StL 64 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 StL 25 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Tot 37 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 173 57 2 2 0 0 2 3 0 25 0 0 .035 .035 .140


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 909 97 86 91.9 48.53
Curveball 109 79 72 74.7 5.82
Slider 183 87 77 82.6 9.77
Changeup 415 84 77 80.3 22.16
Cut Fastball 257 92 82 86.5 13.72


@STATS_Insights