McIlroy rallies to win Tour, FedEx Cup

(AP Photo/John Bazemore)

ATLANTA (AP) Rory McIlroy holed two shots on the 16th hole at East Lake that made him a most unlikely FedEx Cup champion on Sunday.

The first one he didn't even see go in.

Three shots behind with three holes to play at the Tour Championship, McIlroy holed a pitching wedge from 137 yards for eagle that gave him the spark he needed to close with a 6-under 64 and join a three-way playoff with the FedEx Cup title riding on the outcome.


Money Leaders: PGA
Rank Player Earnings
1 D.Johnson $9,067,685
2 J.Day $8,045,112
3 A.Scott $6,209,590
4 P.Reed $5,531,675
5 J.Spieth $5,371,870
6 R.Knox $4,732,906
7 R.McIlroy $4,260,585
8 J.Walker $4,009,146
9 P.Mickelson $3,866,228
10 H.Matsuyama $3,853,954
View Full Leaderboard